3way Switch - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2007, 10:49 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 147
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3way switch


Very good thread! I just re-wired my 3 way today and was getting 60v~ and thought i had things upside down. Sure enough i searched here and found the answer.

I also think the length of the 14-3 determines how much induced voltage you will have. My home is an older one and for some odd reason, they ran the wires to the basement then back to the 2nd floor for the 2 way . I must have about 40 feet of wire for a 3 way switchin system 10 feet apart.

Either way, good post and just wanted to chim im...

Advertisement

simonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 08:30 AM   #17
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

3way switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by sootybuttercup View Post
A tip for anyone using their body as a voltage tester...use 2 fingers on the same hand and make sure no other part of your body is touching anything that may be grounded (wet floor, copper pipe, neutral wire, etc). The last thing you want is voltage passing through your heart (if you grabbed a wire in each hand, or were standing on a wet floor in regular shoes). I'm not recommending "human voltage testers" but, like any other dangerous thing, there is a right way and a wrong way...if you insist on doing it.
Although you do point out that voltage passing through the heart is very bad, NEVER EVER use your body as a tester!!!!!!
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 05:20 PM   #18
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3way switch


I have a problem with a 3-way switch in the master bedroom. When one switch is shut off the other will not work to turn it on. It seems to go in both directions. I will use the link to try and fix it when I am brave enough to mess with electricity some day. Water, close quarters and even heights don't scare me, but honestly I am scared of anything with a wire. I always check the breaker 2 or 3 times before touching anything LOL.[/quote]

You've swapped one of your travellers with your common. I do this for a living and I did this same thing just today
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 10:28 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3way switch


can you give file repai sytem electrical home . email sogoku@yahoo.com.vn . thank you

Advertisement

spk53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 10:34 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM
recessed lighting wiring to 3way switch DIY4EVER Electrical 1 07-12-2007 02:35 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 03:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts