Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-08-2013, 01:01 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

3way switch


I'm trying to add a 3 way switch n it's driving me nuts lol. All pics n videos online show only two sets of wires in the box. I have 3 sets coming in box. One from the high hat lights. Black white n ground wires. One for the power black white n ground n last one is black white n red n ground I have the 3 way wire going across room to other box n have 3 way switch on both ends. How do I hook thi up ???

ecocco1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 01:42 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

3way switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by ecocco1469 View Post
I'm trying to add a 3 way switch and it's driving me nuts lol. All pics and videos online show only two sets of wires in the box. I have 3 sets coming in box. One from the high hat lights. Black white and ground wires. One for the power black white and ground and last one is black white and red and ground I have the 3 way wire going across room to other box and have 3 way switch on both ends. How do I hook thi up ???
I corrected your english, this isn't a text messaging site for children.

In your power wire, hook the neutral up to the light neutral.
Hook the black to the white in the 3 wire going to the other switch.

Re-indentify this white wire as ungrounded.

Hook this wire to the switch common in your #2 box.

Hook the black and red in the 3 wire cable to your traveler screws on your switch.

At this point, you should have one black wire left from the "high hat" cable, it will terminate on the switch common in the first box.

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to wirenut1110 For This Useful Post:
ecocco1469 (09-09-2013)
Old 09-08-2013, 01:44 PM   #3
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,093
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3way switch


Try this.

3way switch-3-way-switch-diagram-1-cr.jpg

This too.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LDyvc...e_gdata_player

Last edited by sublime2; 09-08-2013 at 01:55 PM.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 01:49 PM   #4
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,093
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3way switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post

I corrected your english, this isn't a text messaging site for children.
You missed the "s" in this!
No one's perfect though.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 02:59 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 91
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3way switch


Somewhere on this forum there are 3 or 4 diagrams of the different installations of a 3-way switch. End of run, middle etc. It was very helpful.
One thing that would help me would be to show the direction of the flow of current thru the switch and the conductors... especially to illustrate why it doesn't matter what 2 screws the travelers get hooked up to ... just saying that I think I get it but when it comes to electricity I want to really understand ...
RocketGal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 03:47 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3way switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by RocketGal View Post
Somewhere on this forum there are 3 or 4 diagrams of the different installations of a 3-way switch. End of run, middle etc. It was very helpful.
One thing that would help me would be to show the direction of the flow of current thru the switch and the conductors... especially to illustrate why it doesn't matter what 2 screws the travelers get hooked up to ... just saying that I think I get it but when it comes to electricity I want to really understand ...
here ..





__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 03:55 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3way switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by ecocco1469 View Post
I'm trying to add a 3 way switch n it's driving me nuts lol. All pics n videos online show only two sets of wires in the box. I have 3 sets coming in box. One from the high hat lights. Black white n ground wires. One for the power black white n ground n last one is black white n red n ground I have the 3 way wire going across room to other box n have 3 way switch on both ends. How do I hook thi up ???


__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 06:37 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 2,852
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3way switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by RocketGal View Post
Somewhere on this forum there are 3 or 4 diagrams of the different installations of a 3-way switch. End of run, middle etc. It was very helpful.
One thing that would help me would be to show the direction of the flow of current thru the switch and the conductors... especially to illustrate why it doesn't matter what 2 screws the travelers get hooked up to ... just saying that I think I get it but when it comes to electricity I want to really understand ...
Anyone who plans on doing any electric at all should have a good electrical book. Black and Decker, and others, have books with explanations of basic electricity and wiring, with diagrams for most scenarios.
jeffnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 08:15 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,540
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3way switch


The drawing by Philly is how to connect it. Be aware on that drawing the common screw is the one on the upper left. It may not be in that position on your switch. It will black in colour.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 04:38 AM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3way switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The drawing by Philly is how to connect it. Be aware on that drawing the common screw is the one on the upper left. It may not be in that position on your switch. It will black in colour.


or just rotate the switch 180 degrees .....

__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3way switch and 4 way switch rich4343 Electrical 16 04-02-2012 10:10 AM
can switch work for two different outlets? jlmran Electrical 8 02-10-2011 12:31 PM
split recptacle w/duplex recptacle to 3way switch HELP yeller Electrical 4 06-29-2010 09:41 AM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.