Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-22-2013, 08:10 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 21
Share |
Default

3way question


Is it possible to do a 3way switch with lights coming off each switch?

I have power coming into the basement switch and 4 pot lights down there. The other switch is in the kitchen. There is a stairwell light and wires go into the kitchen switch already. 3way wire will go between the switches. Appreciate e help

Andrew

cornation71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 09:13 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,806
Default

3way question


Nope. Not without some serious re-wiring.
It is MUCH easier to just run a wire from one light to the other.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 09:19 AM   #3
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,788
Default

3way question


Coronation....

I'm sure Speedy is dead right.... but I don't really understand your question and present wiring.... (Speedy... I couldn't understand it)

You might define it better... just in case we are misunderstanding....

Then of course it may (probably) just be me
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 09:36 AM   #4
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

3way question


Are the lights on the same circuit?

Anything is possible .... with the right amount on the check
__________________
If at first you don't succeed .... do not work on live electrical
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gac66610 For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (06-22-2013)
Old 06-22-2013, 10:30 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 21
Default

3way question


The basement is unfinished. I have fished the 3way wire from one switch to the other. I just asked because there is already a wire from the kitchen switch to the stairwell light.

I wanted to try and avoid going from the basement light to the stairwell since its more involved, but I guess it's easier like you said to keep the lights in series.
cornation71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Aluminum Siding prep question aribert Painting 6 03-14-2013 01:48 PM
Plumbing for new shower kit question noviceshock Plumbing 6 03-02-2013 08:11 PM
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 09:25 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
recessed lighting wiring to 3way switch DIY4EVER Electrical 1 07-12-2007 01:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.