3way Half Switched Receptacles - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2010, 09:36 AM   #1
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10

3way half switched receptacles

I have 2 3way switches and 5 receptacles thereafter. I want the 5 receptacles to b half switched and half constant. I have the feed coming into switch#1 and then a 3 wire w/Ground goin to switch#2 then 3wire w/ground goin to the receptacles thereafter. How can I wire this to have the receptacles half switched half constant by the 2 3way switches? Thanks ryan


Rhyno973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:44 AM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
rjniles's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 5,551
Rewards Points: 3,202

3way half switched receptacles

Sorry, can not do with existing wiring. You need a hot supply at the second switch box or at one of the receptacles.

In you existing set up, the hot is in the first switch box and is connected to the common of the 3 way switch. If you can run another cable from switch 1 to switch 2, then it will work.


Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 03:33 PM   #3
joed's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 10,114
Rewards Points: 7,022
Blog Entries: 11

3way half switched receptacles

RJNILES is correct. You would need a four wire feed between the switches to make it work.
You could do it by bringing power to the second switch or the first receptacle instead of the first switch.
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote

3way , receptacles , switched

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 04:34 PM
How to Wire Two Switched Receptacles Avanzi Electrical 7 06-06-2010 09:13 PM
Rewiring - adding receptacles, paths to use RST Electrical 2 03-14-2010 03:29 PM
Maximum number of receptacles on 15 amp circuit flati Electrical 11 03-07-2010 09:08 AM
receptacles have no power, im at a loss reds_21 Electrical 3 10-05-2008 11:49 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts