Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2010, 08:36 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

3way half switched receptacles


I have 2 3way switches and 5 receptacles thereafter. I want the 5 receptacles to b half switched and half constant. I have the feed coming into switch#1 and then a 3 wire w/Ground goin to switch#2 then 3wire w/ground goin to the receptacles thereafter. How can I wire this to have the receptacles half switched half constant by the 2 3way switches? Thanks ryan

Rhyno973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 08:44 AM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,979
Default

3way half switched receptacles


Sorry, can not do with existing wiring. You need a hot supply at the second switch box or at one of the receptacles.

In you existing set up, the hot is in the first switch box and is connected to the common of the 3 way switch. If you can run another cable from switch 1 to switch 2, then it will work.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 02:33 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,456
Default

3way half switched receptacles


RJNILES is correct. You would need a four wire feed between the switches to make it work.
You could do it by bringing power to the second switch or the first receptacle instead of the first switch.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3way, receptacles, switched


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
How to Wire Two Switched Receptacles Avanzi Electrical 7 06-06-2010 08:13 PM
Rewiring - adding receptacles, paths to use RST Electrical 2 03-14-2010 02:29 PM
Maximum number of receptacles on 15 amp circuit flati Electrical 11 03-07-2010 08:08 AM
receptacles have no power, im at a loss reds_21 Electrical 3 10-05-2008 10:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.