Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-08-2006, 09:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3way with diagram


hi -
i've wired a 3 way switch for a single fixture, but i'm not sure how it would work for a series of fixtures. i have a switch on one end of a set of recessed lights, from the load center, 14/2 wire into the first switch, then 14/3 from the switch to the first box, between boxes and to the last switch on the line, which is a dimmer.
something is really confusing me about the wiring between the recessed boxes. i drew up this diagram and labelled things to hopefully keep it simple. i.e. [N1 + N2] would be connecting the dots for this hopeless numbskull.
thanks a million
Attached Thumbnails
3way with diagram-3way.jpg  

Littlefatdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2006, 10:36 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

3way with diagram


It will not work that way. You need another wire. If everything is stil open I would rewire it like this.
Leave the 2 wire into the first switch box, take 3 wire to the next switch box, the take a 2 wire back to the first light and continue to the second light. Connect the black wire from the 2 wire to the common screw on the dimmer. The whites will remain the neturals.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2006, 11:30 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3way with diagram


its open still
like this?
thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
3way with diagram-3way2.jpg  

Last edited by Littlefatdog; 08-08-2006 at 11:33 PM.
Littlefatdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 05:09 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3way with diagram


That looks good dog. other wise you need another wire between n3 and n4 which means buying a four conductor cable.

Do you use a drawing program? Those pics are easy to understand?
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 06:59 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

3way with diagram


The drawings made it a snap to understand what you were doing. That will work.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 09:15 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3way with diagram


thanks a million guys, it worked like a charm the first try!
as for the drawing - i just use MS Paint, as in microsoft paint. its probably one of the oldest, most basic drawing programs there is - also in my opinion one of the most useful. it also helps that i'm a painter and illustrator that loves buildings and everything about how they work.
Attached Thumbnails
3way with diagram-berninonline.jpg  

Littlefatdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring diagram question screenporch21 Electrical 10 11-30-2008 09:14 PM
3way switch satsu Electrical 18 09-08-2007 10:28 AM
recessed lighting wiring to 3way switch DIY4EVER Electrical 1 07-12-2007 02:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.