38 Volt On A Plug - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2009, 10:23 AM   #1
dcm
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

38 volt on a plug


I bought a bank repo house which had been rewired before I bought it. I found a plug controled by a wall light switch. (two plug outlet split) with the switch off I get 38 volts from the plug, with the switch on I get 120 volts ? any ideas ?

Advertisement

dcm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 10:29 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,192
Rewards Points: 538
Default


I will bet that you are using a digital meter. You are reading phantom voltage. It is not a problem, the meters are too sensitive and do not place enough load on the circuit. A solenoid type meter would not show this voltage.

Advertisement

Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 10:30 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,623
Rewards Points: 10,038
Blog Entries: 11
Default


There is no problem. The plug is switching on/off. You are using a digital meter and the reading is called phantom voltage. Plug a lamp in and measure again with the lamp switch turned on.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 10:31 AM   #4
dcm
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default


yes your right im using a dig. meter thanks.
dcm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 11:03 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Almost all analog/dig/neon/non-contact testers will show phantom voltages. The meters' high input impedance is the problem when using these to test house wiring. That's why they invented Wiggys and Low-Z meters.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 11-28-2009 at 11:13 AM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 04:38 PM   #6
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,286
Rewards Points: 2,150
Default


Test it out with an incad bulb to see if it lights up. Probably wont, does sound like phantom voltage, but always good to double check anyway.

Advertisement

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unpolarised US Type 2 Plug to UK Plug. razorcut Electrical 19 05-18-2009 09:49 AM
20 amp plug MikeyP Electrical 6 01-03-2009 09:04 PM
New plug for toaster oven? mike720 Electrical 3 11-23-2008 07:44 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Avanti Electric Oven - But no Plug ? hongtea Electrical 4 03-16-2008 08:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1