320Amp Double Lug Meter - (2) 200amp Panels - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2011, 03:30 PM   #31
Newbie
 
1texasguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North Texas
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks again brric,

That is what I thought and that it how I wired. I started doubting myself when looking at the pic above but it appears that they may have done it that way also.....as they should have.

You've been great help and patient -a class act - thank you.

Advertisement

1texasguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 10:47 AM   #32
Newbie
 
1texasguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North Texas
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Update -

320A meter installed, installed 200A panel in the shop, inspector green carded the install with a comment that this was one of the most professional installs he has seen, POCO ran underground service and I now have power with nothing catching fire and no deaths.

Thanks to the many who helped me clarify and made input.......the time you took to respond is greatly appreciated.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...ectrical7.jpg/

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...ectrical8.jpg/

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...ectrical4.jpg/

Last edited by 1texasguy; 07-15-2011 at 02:20 PM.
1texasguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 01:26 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 24
Default

Re: 320Amp double lug meter - (2) 200amp panels


Sorry to dig up an old thread here..

We are putting in same double lugged 320 meter base here in Florida, one 200 amp service panel stubbed right next to meter and another existing garage meter that is being fed directly from meter to underground riser to garage panel.

The usual inspector seems to be on vacation and I just got inspection which we failed as the inspector noted needs disconnects grouped and garage main panel to become sub panel. This would require me to put the 80' of current SER and rerun extra conductor for ground which is alot of work.

My electrician says since the feed is underground and never enters the building that we should be ok with the way we have it. Can anyone else clarify this currently with NEC. Inspector notes said code though he did not reference a section, and I don't want to get on his bad side by arguing. May just wait until other inspector gets back from vacation or should I just do it the way the inspector interprets it?
cenfl is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 05-17-2017, 03:36 PM   #34
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,812
Rewards Points: 1,778
Default

Re: 320Amp double lug meter - (2) 200amp panels


The disconnects do need to be grouped. You will need a disconnect next to the meter to feed the garage.

SER cannot be used underground.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tiny elbows on meter? pcampbell HVAC 24 10-06-2009 09:54 AM
Frozen water meter stubborn1 Plumbing 5 01-26-2009 06:35 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Code on supplying breaker panels spebby Electrical 10 11-01-2007 08:28 PM
100amps meter with 200amp breaker box? Snooker Electrical 3 04-15-2007 01:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1