Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2010, 05:39 PM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

30amp sub panel for shed??


hey guys just a quick question..im wiring my shed and was gonna put a 30amp panel out there power a circuit of lights ( 5 lights ) circuit of plugs ( 6 or 8) and a oil furnace ( double poll 20A), but my question is, i got a 100 A panel of a friend to put out there but is it ok to put a 30amp breaker in that as a main breaker and run that of a 30A breaker from the house?? or any ideas on what i can do?? p.s i have a 125 am panel in my home and only want to run 30 A to the shed

dion11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 06:17 PM   #32
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,980
Default

30amp sub panel for shed??


30 amps is a pretty small sub panel. Since you are going to dig a trench and you have a 100 amp panel, why not go bigger?

What ever you decide you need a 4 wire feed to the shed, 2 hots, neutral and ground . UF cable or conduit with THWN cable; size (gauge) of wire depends on the size breaker (capacity) you want in the main panel. You also need 2 ground rods at the shed. Depth of bury is 18" for conduit, 2 feet for cable.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 06:23 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

30amp sub panel for shed??


Does the 100a panel have a main breaker ?
And are the lugs rated for #10 wire ?
If so you can use a 30a breaker in the house to feed the 100a panel
The 100a breaker does not need to be removed/replaced

2 threads on same issue merged

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new sub panel BlueBSH Electrical 11 01-22-2012 08:28 AM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 05:26 AM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
30amp slim design breaker or sub panel? Which one? Boyd Electrical 10 09-25-2008 02:36 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.