30amp Slim Design Breaker Or Sub Panel? Which One? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2008, 04:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

30amp slim design breaker or sub panel? Which one?


I stumbled across this site by the grace of google. I checked similar sites, but this one seems the most informative. Great stuff!

My immediate needs are to run a 220v circuit to my garage to feed an air compressor. In the future, I eventually want to add a welder and dedicated circuits for miscellaneous shop tools. In other houses that I've lived in, I've been able to add a 220v circuit, but I've always been blessed with working with a 200amp main panel that had plenty of room. However, the house we recently moved in to has a 150amp main panel that only has two slots left - one on each side at the bottom(see pics).

Do they make a slim-design 30amp breaker to fit in one of the slots? If not,or for future reference, how would I wire the sub panel in to this "at capacity" main panel?

Pics are blurry, I apologize, can't figure the wife's DSLR camera out.




Advertisement


Last edited by Boyd; 09-23-2008 at 04:57 PM. Reason: added pics
Boyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 05:40 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

30amp slim design breaker or sub panel? Which one?


Not to pick the panel apart, but every wire coming in 1 knockout is a violation, but anyway, Looks like that panel is pretty full, You would really have to move some stuff around and buy some more twins to make it work, I would opt for a sub-panel.

Advertisement

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 05:44 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

30amp slim design breaker or sub panel? Which one?


Damn.

I HATE when they do that!

They SHOULD have put a 40 space panel in.


Move #18, (bottom right breaker) to #19 (bottom left space)This will give you two spaces at the bottom right.

Run a 60 amp circuit/subpanel to the garage with 6/3/wg cable.

Run your compessor/shop tools off the garage sub.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 06:20 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,961
Rewards Points: 2,318
Default

30amp slim design breaker or sub panel? Which one?


I agree with 220/221.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 07:22 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

30amp slim design breaker or sub panel? Which one?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
I agree with 220/221.

I do too, to be honest, I posted premature.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 11:55 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

30amp slim design breaker or sub panel? Which one?


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Not to pick the panel apart, but every wire coming in 1 knockout is a violation, but anyway, Looks like that panel is pretty full, You would really have to move some stuff around and buy some more twins to make it work, I would opt for a sub-panel.
That's one of the reasons I wanted to include pics, the inside of my panel just didn't look "right" for some reason.

Thanks for the suggestion 220/221. Looks like I'll be having some fun this weekend!! I'll make sure and report back with the results.
Boyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 12:07 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

30amp slim design breaker or sub panel? Which one?


I will agree with the guys here and also this is not a stanard HOM series panel box due you have riser pipe on the left.

There is not many place used the riser pipes like that.

{ two place it will ring the bell typically condo's or apartments { in some spots } }

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 12:43 AM   #8
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,633
Rewards Points: 1,060
Default

30amp slim design breaker or sub panel? Which one?


This is actually simpler than it looks. This panel is a square D homeline.

Notice the breaker on the top left. It is a combination breaker that has two single pole breakers on the outside, and a two pole in the middle.

It looks like the breaker on the bottom right is a 15. If so, you can get a combo breaker that has 15's on the outside, and a 30 amp two pole in the middle.

Easy fix, plus you get a spare 15.

220's idea for a 60 amp sub-panel is likely best in the long run though.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 07:25 AM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,961
Rewards Points: 2,318
Default

30amp slim design breaker or sub panel? Which one?


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
I will agree with the guys here and also this is not a stanard HOM series panel box due you have riser pipe on the left.

There is not many place used the riser pipes like that.

{ two place it will ring the bell typically condo's or apartments { in some spots } }

Merci,Marc
Marc: That looks like it is outside, and we know someone here that installs most of their panels that way.

Isn't that right 220/221?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 09:02 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

30amp slim design breaker or sub panel? Which one?


That's the way we roll

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 03:36 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

30amp slim design breaker or sub panel? Which one?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
That's the way we roll


Im curious but, whats that white thing stapled under the eave, it looks like indoor romex from before they color coded the cables. Or at least extension cord....

Advertisement

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit Breaker Panel Height? helpless handyman Electrical 25 02-24-2014 04:06 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 04:03 PM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 06:55 AM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 06:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts