30amp RV Outdoor Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2009, 06:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

30amp RV outdoor outlet


I am installing a 30amp RV outlet 100ft from my main panel using 3 #8 wire
my question is I want put a regular 15 amp outlet that would feed from
30 amp outlet can i just pigtail #8 wire with #12 wire.

Advertisement

rod torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 06:45 PM   #2
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Default

30amp RV outdoor outlet


No you will have to pull a seperate line for rec also needs to be GFCI with inuse cover.

Advertisement

300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 08:00 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

30amp RV outdoor outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by rod torres View Post
I am installing a 30amp RV outlet 100ft from my main panel using 3 #8 wire
my question is I want put a regular 15 amp outlet that would feed from
30 amp outlet can i just pigtail #8 wire with #12 wire.
NO! You cannot have a 15 or 20 amp receptacle on this 30A circuit.

They do sell RV boxes with separate breakers for the 30 and 15 amp receptacles that are basically small sub-panels with built-in receptacles.
I'll try and find a link for you.

The 30A RV receptacle does NOT have to be GFI protected. In fact, good luck finding a single-pole 30 GFI breaker.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 08:06 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

30amp RV outdoor outlet


What will work is a Midwest #U041C010 found on this page: http://catalog.geindustrial.com/data...CC=MA&Profile=

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 08:08 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

30amp RV outdoor outlet


The other alternative, and likely cheaper, is to run two separate circuits out to the pedestal. One 30A/120v and one 15 or 20A/120v. You can share one #10 ground.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 08:34 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

30amp RV outdoor outlet


Thanks petey for the usefull info the all in one box seems the way to go
but if i decide to do 5 wires in 1 condiut 3 #8 and 2 #12 whats the proper
size of conduit? Im using #8 due to distance from the main panel 100ft and might have some voltage drop off and also the #8 wire was free from a
friend.
rod torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 08:51 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

30amp RV outdoor outlet


I would use 1". You can get away with 3/4" but it's really not worth it. 1" will make things much easier.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 09:05 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

30amp RV outdoor outlet


Thanxs again for the info it has been helpfull
rod torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 12:09 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

30amp RV outdoor outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
What will work is a Midwest #U041C010 found on this page: http://catalog.geindustrial.com/data...CC=MA&Profile=

A little spendy methinks - but makes for a neat installation over separates.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 06:57 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default

30amp RV outdoor outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
The other alternative, and likely cheaper, is to run two separate circuits out to the pedestal. One 30A/120v and one 15 or 20A/120v. You can share one #10 ground.

That's the same thing 300 ZX stated but in much less wording.

He also got the gfi receptacle in there with much less wording.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:47 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

30amp RV outdoor outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by SULTINI View Post
That's the same thing 300 ZX stated but in much less wording.

He also got the gfi receptacle in there with much less wording.
What's you point?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 08:42 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

30amp RV outdoor outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
What's you point?
You're using up space on the forum that could have been his!
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 07:55 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default

30amp RV outdoor outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
What's you point?

Is stop complicating the answers for DIY'ers. Take your time to read the questions and answers.

OH! I'm sorry did I offend you Speedy I am sorry. You asked.

And nobody asked you yoyizit.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 08:03 AM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

30amp RV outdoor outlet


No sir, you did not offend me. Don't flatter yourself.

And don't be jealous that Yoyizit is on my side. He is a good guy.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 08:09 AM   #15
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

30amp RV outdoor outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by SULTINI View Post
That's the same thing 300 ZX stated but in much less wording.

He also got the gfi receptacle in there with much less wording.
So, once the question has been answered by one person, no one else should corroborate? In a scan of the forum rules, I can't find that one..

Advertisement

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30amp slim design breaker or sub panel? Which one? Boyd Electrical 10 09-25-2008 03:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts