Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-11-2012, 07:49 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 17
Share |
Default

30A RV outlet question


For my house, I have my service disconnect for the house next to my meter, attached to the side of the house. The panel for all the ciruits in the house is located on the opposite side in the basement. I'd like to install a RV outlet panel next to the disconnect. The outlet box would have a 30A breaker in it. Can I run 10/2 directly from the lugs in the outlet box to one hot on the service disconnect? Any help would be appericated.

Thanks,

Tony

Edit: To be more clear: I'm thinking of using 10/2 with ground. Or will this be considered a sub panel where I would be required to run 4 wires(10/3 with ground)? In the outlet panel I will isolate the grounded and grounding. I'm having issues finding this specific scenario online to referance.


Last edited by lamping.ap; 09-11-2012 at 10:08 AM.
lamping.ap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 10:37 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 17
Default

30A RV outlet question


I was also thinking of using a 30/20 panel box. Which would include a 30A rv outlet and a 20A GFCI outlet. Both 120v obviously. For this I would use 10/3 w/ ground and use one hot for the 30A and one for the 20A breakers in the panel. Am I on the right track?

lamping.ap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 05:48 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

30A RV outlet question


Unless there is breaker space in the main disconnect you absolutely CANNOT do this.
This violates several codes and is very unsafe.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 05:53 AM   #4
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

30A RV outlet question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Unless there is breaker space in the main disconnect you absolutely CANNOT do this.
This violates several codes and is very unsafe.

Can the 10' tap rule be applied here?
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:04 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 17
Default

30A RV outlet question


You can't wire two panels to the load side of one service disconnect? That's essentially what I'm trying to do.
lamping.ap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 09:34 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 90
Default

30A RV outlet question


Quote:
Originally Posted by lamping.ap View Post
Can I run 10/2 directly from the lugs in the outlet box to one hot on the service disconnect?
Two conductors under one lug is the problem. No, you cannot do what you want to do.
brgmgb is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brgmgb For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (09-12-2012)
Old 09-12-2012, 10:22 AM   #7
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

30A RV outlet question


Quote:
Originally Posted by brgmgb View Post
Two conductors under one lug is the problem. No, you cannot do what you want to do.
You can always get lugs rated for two wires.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 10:50 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 17
Default

30A RV outlet question


Quote:
Originally Posted by brgmgb View Post
Two conductors under one lug is the problem. No, you cannot do what you want to do.
By this do you mean I can't have two hots go into the load side of each pole of the main disconnect? One going to the panel in the basement, and another into the panel im trying to put outside with the tt-30r outlet? I thought double lugging/tapping was legal?

Last edited by lamping.ap; 09-12-2012 at 10:58 AM.
lamping.ap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 11:54 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 17
Default

30A RV outlet question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Unless there is breaker space in the main disconnect you absolutely CANNOT do this.
This violates several codes and is very unsafe.
Does Article 240 apply here?

Quote:
(1) Taps Not over 3 m (10 ft) Long. If the length of the
tap conductors does not exceed 3 m (10 ft) and the tap
conductors comply with all of the following:

(1) The ampacity of the tap conductors is
a. Not less than the combined calculated loads on the
circuits supplied by the tap conductors, and
b. Not less than the rating of the device supplied by
the tap conductors or not less than the rating of the
overcurrent protective device at the termination of
the tap conductors.

(2) The tap conductors do not extend beyond the switchboard,
panelboard, disconnecting means, or control devices
they supply.

(3) Except at the point of connection to the feeder, the tap
conductors are enclosed in a raceway, which shall extend
from the tap to the enclosure of an enclosed
switchboard, panelboard, or control devices, or to the
back of an open switchboard.

(4) For field installations, if the tap conductors leave the
enclosure or vault in which the tap is made, the ampacity
of the tap conductors is not less than one-tenth of
the rating of the overcurrent device protecting the
feeder conductors.
Informational Note: For overcurrent protection requirements
for panelboards, see 408.36.
lamping.ap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 02:09 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

30A RV outlet question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
You can always get lugs rated for two wires.
You think you can find a residential meter pan, or main disconnect, with replaceable lugs, and then find dual lugs to fit???
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 02:28 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 17
Default

30A RV outlet question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
You think you can find a residential meter pan, or main disconnect, with replaceable lugs, and then find dual lugs to fit???
If the disconnect supports two conductors, there would be no violation? Your indirect comments are making it difficult to arrive at an answer.
lamping.ap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 02:46 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

30A RV outlet question


Can you take a pic of the meter/disconnect? Then I can be less indirect.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 03:13 PM   #13
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,028
Default

30A RV outlet question


Ordinal poster: Are you fishing for someone to agree with what it sounds like you are planning to do? Are you planning on getting a permit? The AHJ will be the final yes or no.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (09-12-2012)
Old 09-12-2012, 08:05 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 17
Default

30A RV outlet question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Can you take a pic of the meter/disconnect? Then I can be less indirect.
It looks like:
lamping.ap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:07 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 17
Default

30A RV outlet question


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Ordinal poster: Are you fishing for someone to agree with what it sounds like you are planning to do? Are you planning on getting a permit? The AHJ will be the final yes or no.
Yes, that was my original question. And Yes. I also want to make sure it will be right for inspection purposes.

lamping.ap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Center Drain Washine Machine Outlet Box Question Please Help!! joshua.easter Plumbing 9 07-23-2012 08:46 PM
electrical question one switch one outlet one fan hurv Electrical 1 07-20-2012 11:25 PM
Outlet spacing in new renovation question Little Electrical 2 12-28-2011 06:32 PM
Outlet and Switch question ich00 Electrical 3 05-04-2010 04:02 PM
Replacing a section of copper pipe to a Gas Water Heater outlet Question F150dad77 Plumbing 4 10-07-2009 08:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.