Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-21-2009, 05:25 PM   #1
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Share |
Default

30A 240v plug


What is a standard for a 240v plug that can support 30 amps? I have this heater that is to be hard wired to the panel, but I'd like to just make it plug in instead, just for easier removal for cleaning or what not.

I googled real quick and found twist lock, but are these the same as 120v or are the pins different? I've seen 120v twist locks used in server environments, so it seems kinda odd if it works for 120 and 240 from a standards point of view. Of course I can use any plug and just give it more power, but I want to do it right. The heater in question is 4800watt so I'm guessing that's 20amps so I want to rate it for 30 to be on the extra safe side as 20 is cutting it close.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 06:24 PM   #2
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Default

30A 240v plug


Here is some 30 amp twist locks http://www.foxelectricsupply.com/con...tegoryId=24355

300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 07:08 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

30A 240v plug


Dryer recep/cord?
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 12:48 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

30A 240v plug


If your are looking for a 30 amp 250 volt twist lock, look for NEMA L6-30 or a 20 amp 250 volt twist lock would be the L6-20 (120 volt versions are the L5). Otherwise you can get the 3 or 4 pin dryer style plugs, probably cheaper and usually more readily available than the twist lock plugs are.

I have a ton of twist locks for different things, in fact I am installing both a 20 amp (L5-20) and a 30 amp (L5-30) in my server room in my basement. Powering two data racks, the 30 amp is for a future UPS that can supply the rack with enough power to keep my servers running during short or consecutive power outages.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you think a tool running at 240v works better than at 120v? Piedmont Electrical 39 07-03-2009 09:50 PM
Unpolarised US Type 2 Plug to UK Plug. razorcut Electrical 19 05-18-2009 09:49 AM
20 amp plug MikeyP Electrical 6 01-03-2009 09:04 PM
New plug for toaster oven? mike720 Electrical 3 11-23-2008 07:44 PM
Avanti Electric Oven - But no Plug ? hongtea Electrical 4 03-16-2008 08:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.