Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-21-2006, 07:31 PM   #1
Extreme DIY'r Adk's, NY
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 293
Share |
Default

30a 240v air compressor circuit


Wiring for future compressor at link below:

http://www.portercable.com/index.asp?e=547&p=4703

Before I insulate I want the circuit run to the compressors future home. I dont see much data there regarding the loads but it says 30a 240v. I know I need 10 ga cu but...

From my minimal experience... All dryers require 4 wires. Some welders require 4 wires (most do not). Ive never seen a 240 compressor require 4 wires. agree?

So do I run 10-2 and plan to use black hot, white hot and bare ground?

or do I run 10-3 and then if I only need 3 wires cap the whites and use red hot, black hot, bare ground?

The reason I ask is one for cost, but also for safety and code. I know on a 120v circuit it is illegal to ever use a white as hot at a receptacle or appliance (light). You can in a switch box or junction box and mark with tape. So in the case of 10-2 one of the whites would be hot. Is the code different for 240v because it sure seems that Ive seen this before.

thanks!

crecore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 07:37 PM   #2
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Default

30a 240v air compressor circuit


You only run the 3-wire stuff to your dryer because it is not straight 240. It's 240/120. Your compressor is straight 240, 30 amp, just like a water heater. Just run 10-2 to the compressor diconnect location, and remark the white conductor with black tape at each end. Code compliant and quite normal.

mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 07:52 PM   #3
Extreme DIY'r Adk's, NY
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 293
Default

30a 240v air compressor circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by mdshunk View Post
You only run the 3-wire stuff to your dryer because it is not straight 240. It's 240/120. Your compressor is straight 240, 30 amp, just like a water heater. Just run 10-2 to the compressor diconnect location, and remark the white conductor with black tape at each end. Code compliant and quite normal.
Makes sense. Many welders are also 120/240 and have a 4 prong plug so thats why they would need 3 wire+ground. I new it was "normal" enough that I had seen it... but that doesnt always mean it's according to NEC. I wish my Dad taught me more of this stuff. I picked up enough to get myself in trouble. Luckily I'm smart enough to know what I don't "know completely" and I respect electricity! Some people on this board are going to get themselves in trouble! yikes. thanks!
crecore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting std 220v/60hz to Single phase 240V 3-wire jryali Electrical 19 03-23-2009 11:06 PM
240v / 20.9A Heater jbclbc Electrical 15 01-19-2007 08:53 AM
Temp Power 240v outside Mike S Electrical 3 01-15-2007 04:52 PM
Wiring 240v pump to generator - URGENT Benchr Electrical 4 12-19-2006 05:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.