Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2012, 08:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3000 Sq ft Victoria


Hello everyone I'm JB and new here. I just brought a historical Victorian that was the home of my city's founder. It was last used as a 4 apt rental unit. Currently its in awful shape, and that's even an understatement. Before I brought it the home was occupies by 30+ squatters. I paid 3k for this massive house and plan to return it to a single family home and live there. As you may have already guessed it was stripped of anything of value...no heating system, no plumbing, no electric. I'm a landlord and have taken on some pretty hard projects but nothing as ambitious as this. The home has five meters outside and four boxes in the basement. There are clean cuts to the wires across the top of the boxes and I don't see evidence of wires pulled out of the walls. I can do everything myself except the electric. My plan was to do one section at a time. I asked an electrician about the possibility of connecting one box just so I could get started with the rehab and as I progress connect more. I eventually want the house on one box. He said for safely reasons they all need to be connected at the same time. Some sections of the house are in extremely bad shape and I wanted to rehab a better section first so I could move in and then finish the rest. Do I have to connect the entire house right away? Does anyone know how much it should run for the electrical work? Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

VictorianRehab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 09:53 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,842
Rewards Points: 2,478
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3000 Sq ft Victoria


Since you want only one electrical box anyway why not remove all the unneeded ones and just go with one right now?

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 09:57 PM   #3
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

3000 Sq ft Victoria


I think that you need to provide some pictures of the home. The amount of help available to you is enormous on this site, but we need to see what we are working with. Post a few of the outside, inside and then the areas which pertain to your questions. And good luck.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 10:06 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

3000 Sq ft Victoria


I would rip out the entire old service and install a temp service until you have a grasp on what you want in the future.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (10-27-2012)
Old 10-27-2012, 06:13 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,952
Rewards Points: 3,020
Default

3000 Sq ft Victoria


Sounds to me like K Buzz has the best idea.
Not sure how it works there but around here the power company will not even turn on the power until the inside wiring is all done, inspected and signed off on by the building inspector.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quicksilver Commander 3000 series remote control rmhummer General DIY Discussions 1 01-09-2012 08:01 AM
Silverline 3000 Ranhome Windows and Doors 2 09-27-2011 12:11 AM
4 ton unit 3000 sq ft shoothebunnies HVAC 5 05-27-2011 02:52 PM
Zoneline 3000 Heat Pump Jupe Blue HVAC 1 01-08-2011 06:14 PM
Opinions on Weathershield Visions 3000 windows? renbelle Building & Construction 3 08-04-2010 09:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.