30 Amp 220 Volt To 110 Volt - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2012, 09:17 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

30 amp 220 volt to 110 volt


I'm drawing a blank in my mind. Not thinking straight.

My RV is 30 amp 110volt. Want to run off my generator 30amp 220 volt. Is there an adapter one can buy to convert the 220 volt to 110 volt? I know generators have to have balanced draw on the fields.

Advertisement

Gregad511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 09:58 AM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,224
Rewards Points: 2,358
Default

30 amp 220 volt to 110 volt


What type receptacles( configuration and amperage) do you have on your generator? What is the wattage of your generator.

If the generator puts out both 120 and 240, you will only be able to hook the RV up to the 120 side. You will not be able to balance the load.

A RV dog bone adapter will connect your 30 amp male RV plug to connect to a 15/20 amp receptacle on your gen set.


Available at Walmart, Harbor Freight, Northern Tool or any RV dealer.

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 11:25 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,012
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

30 amp 220 volt to 110 volt


As noted, unless your generator has a 120V receptacle, you're out of luck. And even if it does, it's probably only a 20-amp circuit. You "might" be able to run the air conditioner. If you want to spend some money, there are generators that have an RV receptacle. The ones quiet enough for use in a campground are about $1,000 or more, but I bought a 3KW Champion from Lowe's for around $350.
md2lgyk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 05:55 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,701
Rewards Points: 2,362
Default

30 amp 220 volt to 110 volt


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregad511 View Post
I'm drawing a blank in my mind. Not thinking straight.

My RV is 30 amp 110volt. Want to run off my generator 30amp 220 volt. Is there an adapter one can buy to convert the 220 volt to 110 volt? I know generators have to have balanced draw on the fields.
As you have already summerised its not just a matter of
an adaptor(which are easily made), its also a matter of
balancing the load, most gennys would not like such an imbalance !
Have you checked the genny ? to see if it can be reconfigured
for 120v operation ? some can !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 06:39 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,975
Rewards Points: 2,046
Default

30 amp 220 volt to 110 volt


Connect the RV power cord to one 120 volt generator receptacle. If needed, use an adapter with a 30 amp female receptacle for the RV cord and 15 or 20 amp male plug to go into the generator receptacle.

Connect a plain extension cord (the orange variety of at least 14 gauge) to the other generator 120 volt receptacle, and string that through a window of the RV. Inside the RV connect a power strip to this. Plug most of your cord and plug lamps and appliances into this while the hard wired appliances and lights are powered by the RV cord. This will more or less balance the load for the generator and also hold down the load on the 30 amp RV cord going through the 20 amp generator receptacle.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 07:11 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,012
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

30 amp 220 volt to 110 volt


Good plan, but RVs usually don't have any "cord and plug" appliances. None of mine ever has. The only thing I could plug into a power strip would be the television. And as I said, depending on its BTU rating, the OP might not be able to run the air conditioner.

Advertisement

md2lgyk is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
24 volt AC wiring in same conduit as 220 volt single phase and in same outdoor enclosure as 220 v silgle phase and 3 phase arbailey Electrical 5 05-24-2012 09:43 PM
12 Volt lighting AC or DC johnr9q Electrical 20 11-21-2010 02:12 PM
Want to change a single 240 volt circuit with only one outlet, to a 120 volt circuit with a standard 120 volt outlet. covenant Electrical 7 11-09-2010 07:07 PM
240 volt circuit and 120 volt circuit to shed fortop Electrical 27 06-26-2010 12:37 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts