3 Wire Romex For Single Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2010, 09:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 wire romex for single switch


I have a light switch plug combo over my bath sink. I pulled the combo switch (it's not a GFCI) intending to place a single switch in it's place. The red connected to the plug, the black to the switch with a common white (red and black are hot). Do I pigtail the black and red together for the single switch feed? Thanks.

Advertisement

jraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 10:06 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,975
Rewards Points: 2,206
Default

3 wire romex for single switch


More than likey the red and the black go to the new switch with the white wire nutted and buried in the box.

Advertisement

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 10:23 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3 wire romex for single switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by jraf View Post
I have a light switch plug combo over my bath sink. I pulled the combo switch (it's not a GFCI) intending to place a single switch in it's place. The red connected to the plug, the black to the switch with a common white (red and black are hot). Do I pigtail the black and red together for the single switch feed? Thanks.
which of the wires had the tab between them. It's possible the the red is a switch leg and the black fed both the switch and the plug. This scenario to me seems most likely if there's only one three wire in the box. If they had feed the plug with the red and the switch with the black then they would have needed another wire to act as a switch leg being as the white was needed as a neutral.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 08:16 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,974
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

3 wire romex for single switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by jraf View Post
The red connected to the plug, the black to the switch with a common white (red and black are hot)..
The red is the power supply for the plug (receptacle) and also for the switch.

The black goes to the light that the switch controls.

The white is the neutral needed for the plug. Since you are installing a plain switch, the white is not needed any more. Tape or wire-nut the end all by itself and curl that wire up uncut in case the next owner of the house wants to put a plug there again.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 09:46 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 wire romex for single switch


Thanks for the info. Worked out great. JF
jraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double switch wiring rockclimber Electrical 18 03-18-2012 11:13 PM
2 lights from 1 switch, w/ no wire directly from light1 to light2 conradA Electrical 4 03-31-2010 11:25 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
New stove switch doesn't have place for earth wire warrickvdb Electrical 1 05-08-2008 01:18 PM
Overhead light w/ switch and 3 recept. how to wire? twilightcall Electrical 8 01-07-2008 05:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts