Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-06-2008, 03:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug


I'm changing out old wire with new. What do I do with the bare ground with the new wire on a three prong plug for a dryer? Can I connect it to the white wire or do I attach it to the frame of the plug? Should I just not use it at all since the old wire didn't have a ground wire.


Last edited by dgbunk; 09-06-2008 at 03:15 PM.
dgbunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 03:54 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,501
Default

3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug


Are you changing the appliance cord or the wiring from the panel to the dryer location?

If you are changing the wiring from the panel you should be installing 3 wires + ground. The Code has changed.

Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 07:45 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug


Quote:
Should I just not use it at all since the old wire didn't have a ground wire.
You should change the receptical and pigtail to 4 wire but if you are not going to, it doesn't matter what you do with the ground...just dont cut it off short!
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 09:06 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 105
Default

3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
You should change the receptical and pigtail to 4 wire but if you are not going to, it doesn't matter what you do with the ground...just dont cut it off short!
Exactly! You've already done the expensive part of the job by changing the wire from the panel to the receptacle, now finish the job correctly and buy a four prong receptacle and a new four wire pig tail for the dryer and change everything to be 100% legal and code compliant!
EBFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 10:39 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
You should change the receptical and pigtail to 4 wire but if you are not going to, it doesn't matter what you do with the ground...just dont cut it off short!
A dryer is 120/240, so it needs a ground and a neutral. If you only have a ground you have pulled the wrong type of cable. You cannot use 10/2, it must be 10/3.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 11:22 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug


Quote:
finish the job correctly and buy a four prong receptacle and a new four wire pig tail for the dryer and change everything to be 100% legal and code compliant!
As long as he removes the bonding strap. When I got new appliances, the Home Depot subcontracted installers didn't know anything about this little gem. He had been delivering/installing them for several years


Quote:
You cannot use 10/2, it must be 10/3.
Thread title:

Quote:
3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 03:03 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Default

3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Are you changing the appliance cord or the wiring from the panel to the dryer location?

If you are changing the wiring from the panel you should be installing 3 wires + ground. The Code has changed.
I'm only changing the wiring from the panel to the dryer location. The plug from the new Maytag dryer is a three prong. I have the matching receptical. I'm thinking that I should be able to contect the neutral and the bare ground together.??
dgbunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 05:49 AM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug


DO NOT connect the neutral and ground together!!

You ran a new dryer circuit. You MUST replace the 3-wire receptacle and cord with 4-wire.

Do the right thing and change them! We're only talking $25 and no extra time to do so (you know you're going to home depot anyway).

The instructions with your new dryer will explain how to put the cord on.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 12:49 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Default

3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug


If you have no choice but to use the 3 prong recepticle and dryer plug with the 10-3 wire, does it make a difference what you do with the bare ground wire out of a sub-panel? I assume you do not bond the bare ground wire to the nuetral out of a sub panel right? Leave it disconnected at the panel AND the recepricle when using a plastic box?
Happylizard2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 01:07 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,730
Default

3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by Happylizard2 View Post
If you have no choice but to use the 3 prong recepticle and dryer plug with the 10-3 wire, does it make a difference what you do with the bare ground wire out of a sub-panel? I assume you do not bond the bare ground wire to the nuetral out of a sub panel right? Leave it disconnected at the panel AND the recepricle when using a plastic box?
If you have 3wire and a ground, do the right thing and use a 4 wire plug and receptacle.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Please help, changing dryer cord from 3 prong to 4 prong oldpirate Electrical 8 08-10-2008 04:42 PM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 04:58 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.