Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2011, 03:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Share |
Default

3 Wire Dryer Plug


I want to use a 3 wire hot water heater plug for a clothes dryer, and an oven. (all three wire) They will all be in the same room. I will just plug in what ever I am using. ( Hunting Cabin ) I need to make an extension cord (3 wire). My question is: Can I get a 6'- 3 wire dryer cord and attach an inlet plug on the end and use this for an extension cord. If I can tell me if this is correct, All 3 wires on the dryer cord are grey.....lay the 3 way wire flat and the left and right wire are hot and the middle is the neutral. Left wire goes on left side, right wire to right side and center to center. Will this work or is there a better way ? Thanks

Rocksprings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 03:48 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,981
Default

3 Wire Dryer Plug


Not a good plan.

Water heaters are not plug in devices. They use 3 wire 240 volt circuits on #10 wire with a 30 amp breaker.

A dryer is a 120/240 volt device and uses a 4 wire circuit on #10 wire with a 30 amp breaker.

A range is a 120/240 volt device and uses a 4 wire circuit. Some are 40 amp with #8 wire and some are 50 amp with #6 wire. Depends on the range and the manufacturers instructions.

You need 3 individual circuits.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (11-10-2011), Rocksprings (11-21-2011)
Old 11-10-2011, 04:17 PM   #3
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,547
Default

3 Wire Dryer Plug


You really need three separate circuits for these devices. If they're all in the same room, wiring them should be easy.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
Rocksprings (11-21-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use a piece of wire to connect a grounding plug to an outlet? Smoked Electrical 9 10-14-2011 03:56 PM
sub panel using dryer wire ollie2308 Electrical 6 12-23-2010 01:58 PM
electrical plug and switch Linda Patterson Electrical 3 05-10-2010 06:55 PM
New Dryer is 3 wire, receptacle is 4 Wire. thelimit Electrical 22 01-15-2009 09:59 AM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 01:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.