3 Wire Connection For New Kitchen Stove - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2007, 02:54 PM   #1
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,233
Rewards Points: 2,376
Default

3 wire connection for new kitchen stove


I am changing out a drop-in kitchen range in a condo built in the early 1970's. Range is hard wired with a servive enterance cable type cable with 2 # 6 conductors and a twisted braid groud around the 2 conductors. This is wired to a 50 amp dual pole breaker with the braid connected to a common neutral ground buss. I realize that new installs require a 4 wire plug and receptacle but replacing this cable would be a bear. Can I install a 50 amp 3 wire receptacle on the cabe and a 3 wire pig tail on the stove and tie the neutral and the ground at the stove?

Advertisement

rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 07:07 PM   #2
Lic. Elect, Eng Contractr
 
lbwireman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 wire connection for new kitchen stove


Short Answer: NO. In the event a fault should occur, an electrocuted family member or friend is also a "bear". See NEC 2005 Art. 250.24(A)(5) and Art. 250.142(B), unless the installation meets the requirements of Art. 250.142(B) Exception No. 1/Art 250.140. Note the use of the word "existing" and the references to other code articles. My advice to my guys has always been "err on the side of caution".

Advertisement

lbwireman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 12:02 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3 wire connection for new kitchen stove


Maybe it would be helpful if you could attach the codes you are referring to, or post the links so we all can learn. Thanks
sluggermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 02:07 AM   #4
Lic. Elect, Eng Contractr
 
lbwireman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 wire connection for new kitchen stove


Available from NFPA. I gave you the citations, surely you can find a code book???? Try this
http://www.nfpa.org/freecodes/free_a...GpAf3QjTiH6vEJ

Select the entire URL (use yur R click button to "copy link address"), then put your cursor in the URL window of your browser, ctrl V, Enter. Do your homework. Enjoy.

Last edited by lbwireman; 09-11-2007 at 02:11 AM.
lbwireman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2007, 01:59 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

3 wire connection for new kitchen stove


While I am not a fan of 3 wire supplies, see art. 250.140 2002 NEC,it is permitted in EXISTING installations to use a 3 wire supply. A feed with seperate grounded and grounding conductors is still the prefered method. If you make any changes such as moving locations of a receptacle,box then you would IMO, have to upgrade.
Norcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 wire stove connection bgoldie Electrical 13 03-01-2011 01:29 PM
wire connection peteracki Electrical 6 05-18-2010 07:12 AM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM
got rid of kitchen island, how to get rid of the electrical wire from floor ckcrew Electrical 15 12-14-2006 10:45 AM
Three electricans said it was impossible! Tom Electrical 35 04-29-2006 06:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts