Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-13-2012, 08:05 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: southeastern mass.
Posts: 154
Share |
Default

3 wire to 4 wire for stove


I had to disconnect a 240 vac 50A range outlet to re-floor a kitchen. I noticed one lug is broken, a replacement is in order. to install a new 4 wire outlet and pigtail I known I have to remove the bonding jumper in the stove. Instead of running new 4 wire se cable, can I run a separate ground along side of the existing 3 wire cable? If it is ok, I have 8 gauge black which I can green tape, or I have 10 gauge green wire. The total run is 22 feet in a basement. I am the home owner. If it not ok, I will just replace the outlet.

thanks,

bernie

bernie963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:13 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

3 wire to 4 wire for stove


You can not use an extra wire.
Replace the cable or change back to 3 wire

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:16 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

3 wire to 4 wire for stove


Run xx-3 wire to the range depending on how much your range needs. But I have always used 6-3.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:23 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: southeastern mass.
Posts: 154
Default

3 wire to 4 wire for stove


Thanks, that is what I thought. What is there now is 6 gauge, so I will go with a replacent outlet and call it a day.

bernie
bernie963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 08:12 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 01:33 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 02:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.