Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-11-2009, 08:21 AM   #1

Share |

3-wire 220V

Hello:
First of all, I'm a carpenter, not an electrician. I'm planning to build a detached garage. When the electrician came by to scope out his part of the project, I suggested that he tap into a sub-panel in the basement for the garage power. This sub-panel was wired about 12 years ago by a licensed electrician - but we never pulled permits for the work( i.e. it wasn't inspected ). When the house was built there was a 3-wire 220V line for the electric range. When we changed the location of the range, they left the wire in place. When they wired the sub-panel in the basement, they used that wire as the feed, drove a copper grounding rod outside, and attached ground wire from the rod to the panel. I assume that sub-panels need 4-wires or else they would have stayed with the 3-wire.

The electrician tells me that's not code and that he's never seen anything like this before. He says it may have been code 12 years ago, but it isn't today.

What I need to know is - is this safe? I know I should get them to pull a new 4-wire 220V at some point, but I'm a little freaked out at whether this is an immediate issue or not.

By the way, the electrician decided to tap into the main panel for the detached garage.

Thanks,
Mike

mpt1123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 08:26 AM   #2
Retired from the grind

3-wire 220V

Depending on your area, depends on what year of NEC that they are following. Sounds like you need a new electrician, due to not clear on his codes and what year the panel falls under. If he wants to repull, then that means following the latest codes, not Grandfathered like it is now.

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 09:57 AM   #3

3-wire 220V