3 Way Wiring- Switch, Fixture , Fixture, Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2011, 03:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way wiring- Switch, fixture , fixture, switch


I think i goofed. I have 2 lights in a stairway that I am trying to wire up. Power enters at switch #1, ran 3 wire to fixture #1, 3 wire to fixture #2, 3 wire to switch #2. I am having trouble making this work and am guessing i didnt run my wire correctly. Is there a way to make this work or do i have to open up my walls and re wire between the 2 fixtures?

Please help.

Advertisement

Warrenpfjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 03:44 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way wiring- Switch, fixture , fixture, switch


What about stealing the ground wire between fixture 1 and fixture2 to use as a jump. Fixture 1 would be grounded through switch1 while fixture 2 would be grounded through switch 2. Could that work?

Advertisement

Warrenpfjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 04:44 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

3 way wiring- Switch, fixture , fixture, switch


If your intention is to have BOTH fixtures contolled by a pair of 3-ways you can wire this to work.

Last edited by brric; 03-30-2011 at 04:52 PM.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 04:54 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

3 way wiring- Switch, fixture , fixture, switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
If your intention is to have BOTH fixtures contolled by a pair of 3-ways you can wire this to work.
Sorry, I read the post wrong. I was thinking there was a 3-wire between switches.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 06:35 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way wiring- Switch, fixture , fixture, switch


Hmmmm- well do i have any other option now that the wire is run and walls are closed up? I guess I could skip fixture #1 and make the box a junction so i basically have a switch, junction box, fixture, switch.
Bummer.....
Warrenpfjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 08:08 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,378
Rewards Points: 3,550
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3 way wiring- Switch, fixture , fixture, switch


You don't have enough wires between the fixtures to make it work.
There are several possibilities.
Only one fixture will work from both switches.
One switch will control them both.
Two switches will each control one light each.
You run the proper cables to make it work the way you wanted originally.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 08:21 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 73
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3 way wiring- Switch, fixture , fixture, switch


joed is correct.

Here's a link to the correct way to wire this if indeed you wanted two 3-way switches to control both lights.

http://www.homeimprovementweb.com/in...ch-option7.htm

It's from this page, which I've always found invaluable when figuring out 3-way circuits.

http://www.homeimprovementweb.com/in...way-switch.htm

Although I'm kinda confused by what you mean when you say "3 wire". Do you mean 12/3 or 14/3 with ground, or are you counting the ground along with the hot and neutral, as in 12/2 with ground or 14/2with ground?

Good luck-Bill
itin1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 08:51 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way wiring- Switch, fixture , fixture, switch


Thanks guys-Lesson learned. By "3 wire" i meant 14/3 with ground.....
I can still access the space between switch 1 and fixture 1 but the rest is already covered with finished wall/ceiling. I think my plan now is to snake another 14/2 with ground to fixture 1 and add an additional wall switch next to switch1. Fixture 2 with be 3 way while fixture 1 is a regular single pole switch. Thanks for all the help!

Advertisement

Warrenpfjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
Unusual three way switch wiring help r1racer Electrical 9 11-11-2010 09:49 PM
Wiring 4 lights to 1 switch...Please help! Driven2race Electrical 14 01-17-2010 07:03 PM
find switch to control outdoor light fixture CaymanAg Electrical 1 07-10-2005 09:43 PM
New Switch / Ceiling Fixture - Help nelrolo3 Electrical 1 03-12-2004 07:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts