3-way Wiring Position - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2012, 06:08 PM   #16
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

3-way wiring position


Quote:
Originally Posted by fa_f3_20 View Post
There is no code requirement. If you're OCD like I am, you can make them so that the light is on when both are up, but it doesn't really matter.
The light would also be on if they're both down as well.

Advertisement

brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 06:22 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,499
Rewards Points: 1,354
Default

3-way wiring position


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
The light would also be on if they're both down as well.
Dang!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and I just got finished fixing all of my 3-ways.

Noooooooo....I'm not even gonna look at my 4-way.
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 07:40 PM   #18
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,376
Rewards Points: 3,546
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3-way wiring position


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
On a three way there is no real up or down.
There is in fact an up and down (unless you mount the switch sideways). There is no ON and OFF as that changes with use.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 08:02 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3-way wiring position


I toiled over it, but I wired them to be "on" when the switches are in the same position. I hope I can sleep tonight.
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 09:23 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 843
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3-way wiring position


OMG LMAO this is one them being funny post.
Hardway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 09:38 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3-way wiring position


i was serious, I had a terrible time when a electrician friend used a different brand yellow wire nut than I had been using. I feel that I accomplished a lot just by not replacing them.
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 09:40 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3-way wiring position


You can bet that all the 3-ways will be wired so that they are off if in the same position.
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 09:44 PM   #23
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,033
Rewards Points: 2,864
Default

3-way wiring position


But one pair could be up and off while another pair is down and off.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 09:46 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3-way wiring position


They will all be down and off or up and off. Only when the pairs are opposite will the light be on.
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 10:08 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,499
Rewards Points: 1,354
Default

3-way wiring position


Quote:
Originally Posted by bkvanbek View Post
They will all be down and off or up and off. Only when the pairs are opposite will the light be on.
Never ever ever accidently switch both at the same time or they will get out of sync and you will have to rewire them again!
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 10:10 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3-way wiring position


The 4-ways really have me worried.
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 01:35 AM   #27
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3-way wiring position


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed

There is in fact an up and down (unless you mount the switch sideways). There is no ON and OFF as that changes with use.
I knew so idiot is gona have say that
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 10:38 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3-way wiring position


So with 4-ways can all switches down be off. And yes i know that if one or three or whatever are up, down can be on. But if they are all down can that be off?
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 10:41 AM   #29
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,376
Rewards Points: 3,546
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3-way wiring position


It can be setup that way.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 10:49 AM   #30
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

3-way wiring position


Though I got a chuckle out of this thread, I thought I’d throw some info out there. I have had customers request that their 3-ways be set so the lights are off when the switches are in the same position. I figured out that if you use the same switch (manufacturer/model #) for both, and orientate them the same way when mounting (example, mounted with the common terminal on the lower right), reverse the travellers at the second switch.

Example…at the first switch, attach the red traveller on the right, at the second switch attach it on the left. Has worked for me every time.

When adding a 4-way in, sometimes you might have to experiment, but IIRC keep the same traveller (red for example, incoming and outgoing) on the same side if top-to-bottom terminals, same upper or lower terminal if side-to-side terminals. Attach the other incoming traveller to the other incoming terminal of the switch (don’t cross the travellers at the 4-way).

Advertisement

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should

Last edited by SD515; 01-22-2012 at 10:53 AM.
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 10:01 AM
Backyard wiring questions MikeInDetroit Electrical 1 11-02-2011 10:46 AM
Landscape wiring question: GFCI and Breaker Amp MikeInDetroit Electrical 0 11-02-2011 10:43 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 07:45 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts