Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2012, 02:16 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Share |
Default

3-way wiring position


With a 3-way wiring config, with both switches up or down, should the light(s) be on or off?

bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 02:17 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

3-way wiring position


Quote:
Originally Posted by bkvanbek
With a 3-way wiring config, with both switches up or down, should the light(s) be on or off?
Can be either

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 02:18 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,324
Default

3-way wiring position


You could also have the light on with one up and one down.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 02:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Default

3-way wiring position


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
Can be either
I know, but which is right? If not right or wrong, which is most common?
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 02:33 PM   #5
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

3-way wiring position


Quote:
Originally Posted by bkvanbek
I know, but which is right? If not right or wrong, which is most common?
There is no right, wrong, or common it depends on each install.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 02:46 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Default

3-way wiring position


This is new construction and the first of many 3-way, I want to do them all the same. What is preferred?
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 02:52 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,324
Default

3-way wiring position


It will change depending on which switch gets used.

SW1 SW2
up up = on
dn up = off
dn dn = on
dn up = off
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 02:59 PM   #8
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

3-way wiring position


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port
It will change depending on which switch gets used.

SW1 SW2
up up = on
dn up = off
dn dn = on
dn up = off
On a three way there is no real up or down.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 03:00 PM   #9
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

3-way wiring position


Quote:
Originally Posted by bkvanbek
This is new construction and the first of many 3-way, I want to do them all the same. What is preferred?
There is no preferred figure out what you like and stick with it throughout the house
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 03:03 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,324
Default

3-way wiring position


I was referring to the position of the toggles.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 03:06 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Default

3-way wiring position


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
It will change depending on which switch gets used.

SW1 SW2
up up = on
dn up = off
dn dn = on
dn up = off
Is this the way you wire it?

Not?
up up = off
dn up = on
dn dn = off
dn up = on
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 03:09 PM   #12
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,324
Default

3-way wiring position


I was trying to show that it does not matter. Changing the position of one switch turns the light either on or off.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 03:12 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Default

3-way wiring position


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
I was trying to show that it does not matter. Changing the position of one switch turns the light either on or off.
I know but wired with the travelers on way, with switches in the same position the lights will be on OR off, and that will not change. Like I said, I know there is no right or wrong. What is the preferred, on OR off if the switches are in the same position?
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 03:40 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Huntsville, AL USA
Posts: 229
Default

3-way wiring position


There is no code requirement. If you're OCD like I am, you can make them so that the light is on when both are up, but it doesn't really matter.
fa_f3_20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 04:00 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 919
Default

3-way wiring position


Thanks guys....I'm major OCD and y'all had me going around my whole house checking every 3-way out.

zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 09:01 AM
Backyard wiring questions MikeInDetroit Electrical 1 11-02-2011 09:46 AM
Landscape wiring question: GFCI and Breaker Amp MikeInDetroit Electrical 0 11-02-2011 09:43 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.