Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2010, 09:15 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N.W Suburbs Illinois
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3 Way switches


This is the way my circuit looks. Except the switch on the bottom right I want to be a ganged box with another switch for a different light.. Do I have to run another common through since the common here is used as a Hot? The other common would be for the other light.
Attached Images
 

Kurt1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 09:51 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southern Wisconsin
Posts: 171
Rewards Points: 150
Default

3 Way switches


Yes you would need a neutral. The best thing to do is just pull another circuit in instead of somehow trying to rig this. Can you tap off of the hot and neutral wires in the first (left) box?

Steelhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Lights & 3 switches, doesn't look right curious1 Electrical 1 10-26-2010 10:26 PM
Question about wiring and voltage with switches and lights rswurth Electrical 17 06-20-2010 11:12 PM
Question about switches on a 20 amp circuit Abs777 Electrical 6 04-28-2010 10:09 AM
Replacing switches turning into nightmare. RyanD Electrical 19 05-26-2009 06:19 PM
Need help replacing switches in four-way circuit magnolia Electrical 3 05-09-2008 09:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.