3 Way Switches - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2009, 07:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switches


Hello all. I'm finishing up remodeling a room in my house and picked up new receptacles and a light switch today. The only switch left that was in the color I needed is a three way; the light is a two way. I know it's probably ok to use a 3 way in a two way circuit with the only issue being I might have to rewire it if on/off aren't in the right positions. I would wire it like this: hot to common and one of the travelers to the light. Is there any problem with doing this. thanks

Advertisement

farrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 08:00 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3 way switches


That is not how three way switches work. You are gonna need to go and get another switch or put in two three way switches.

Advertisement

Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 08:04 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 way switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by Paelectrican View Post
That is not how three way switches work. You are gonna need to go and get another switch or put in two three way switches.
It would work, it's just a bad idea.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 08:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3 way switches


Ok than i stand corrected, i just would never try it or do it in someone's home.
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 08:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 way switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by Paelectrican View Post
Ok than i stand corrected, i just would never try it or do it in someone's home.
Agreed. If I saw a switch w/o the ON/OFF, I would look for the mate. What color is this switch that you couldn't find another one?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 09:53 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,377
Rewards Points: 3,548
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3 way switches


It will work just fine. There will be no problems. It not against code. It is done often when the proper switch is not available.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 11:32 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

3 way switches


If it works backward, turn the switch upside down instead or rewiring the switch.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 12:10 AM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switches


Nothing wrong with doing that. Just make sure to put it in so that on is up. Also tape over the unused screw with electrical tape.
howelltc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 07:35 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

3 way switches


The one and only disadvantage of using a (just one) 3 way switch for single location control is that the switch costs more. And that is chicken feed or chump change.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me ID these switches... jp2code Electrical 10 12-11-2009 03:15 PM
Replacing switches turning into nightmare. RyanD Electrical 19 05-26-2009 07:19 PM
50+ year old home-all light switches one-way? mudpaw Electrical 13 06-22-2008 02:57 PM
light switches wired in series -- why? magnolia Electrical 2 05-11-2008 12:16 PM
Need help replacing switches in four-way circuit magnolia Electrical 3 05-09-2008 10:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts