3 Way Switches. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2009, 10:07 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Udall Kansas
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

3 way switches.


I am finishing my basement and am at the electircal stage now. I was wanting to put the main living area on one switch, and a dimmer switch. Do I need to use 12-3 wire and run a 3 way switch, or can I use a one way switch and a dimmer?

When using 3 way switches do I run 12-3 wire to all of the lights that hook into the 3 way switches.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Advertisement

cambishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 10:30 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,994
Rewards Points: 2,786
Default

3 way switches.


The correct wire gauge is based on the circuit size. A 20 amp circuit would require #12, a 15 amp #14 wire.

It sounds like you want both of these switches to operate the same lights. Is this correct?

Advertisement

Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 10:42 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Udall Kansas
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

3 way switches.


Correct,
I want both switches to operate the same lights.
cambishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 12:00 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

3 way switches.


Power into the first switch box, 3 wire from first switch box to second switch box, 2 wire cable to first light, then to each light.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 12:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

3 way switches.


For 3 way switching with dimming at both locations you need to buy a 3 way dimmer kit, which has both switches in it (the switches are not physically the same size).
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 12:58 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Udall Kansas
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

3 way switches.


So I only need 12-3 to run from switch to switch, and 12-2 from light to light?

On this dimmer kit, I am only going to have on dimmer switch. At the bottom of my stairs I will have a regular 3 way switch and then the dimmer will be in the family room, both controlling the same lights.
cambishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 01:00 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Udall Kansas
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

3 way switches.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Power into the first switch box, 3 wire from first switch box to second switch box, 2 wire cable to first light, then to each light.

Do I use 3 wire to power into the first switch box or just from switch to switch? So once I go from switch to switch then I can use 12-2 to go to all of the lights? I just want to make sure I understand.
cambishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 01:34 PM   #8
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 way switches.


Power 12/2 to switch1, 12/3 from switch1 to switch2, 12/2 from switch2 to light1, 12/2 from light1 to light etc

Advertisement

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing switches turning into nightmare. RyanD Electrical 19 05-26-2009 07:19 PM
two switches that stopped working johnoh Electrical 6 03-03-2009 06:44 PM
3 switches 1 light. need 2 lights 2 switches. Im desprete s richards Electrical 6 07-19-2008 04:18 PM
light switches wired in series -- why? magnolia Electrical 2 05-11-2008 12:16 PM
Need help replacing switches in four-way circuit magnolia Electrical 3 05-09-2008 10:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts