3 Way Switches - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2012, 07:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switches


I need to wire up my plugins so that the bottom is controled by 3 way switches 1 at 1 door then plugs inbetween another door and top of plugs stay hot any ideas or diagrams??? thanks

Advertisement

mike cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 08:39 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,055
Rewards Points: 2,908
Default

3 way switches


Is this new wiring you will be installing or is it already installed?

If it is already installed you will need to supply the routing and number and colors of all the wires in each box.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 10:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switches


yes this is all new starting from scratch any help apppreiated
mike cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 12:48 AM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

3 way switches


I will post one type of diagram so you can study it a little.

I will fill the details below the photo so you can understand little more.



As you noted on the J1 ( first jumper tabs ) you have to break it off to get this function properly as the photo the bottom half is switched if you want top half to be switched just reverse the black et red conductors at the receptale but leave the white alone ( at the J2 ) you will not need to break the tab at all.

If you want to " jump " to the other switched receptale so what you will do is when you hit the next receptale which you want it unswitched all the way is just hook the black conductor to the receptale and just wirenutted the red so it will go to the next receptale which you want to be half switched.

So that is one of the example you can do that way.

The materals you will need a single gang switch box with single pole switch ( let us know if you go with three way switch it will be little differnt but I will post it later if you want to go that route ) and XX-3 NM cable ( note the reason why I put XX due you may have #12 or #14 AWG conductors there so you will have check it out before you buy it. plus few junction box for downstream receptales.

There is a tip I will pass get a deep well single gang verison it will be much easier to deal with the conductors.

Note : if you did see the yellow conductor that actually a white conductor for netural so give you a head up on that.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 04:22 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switches


yes i need 3 way switches at each end to controll 6 outlets with the top hot all the time and the bottom switched so wife can move lamps to different locations and turn them on and off from both doorways thanks
mike cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 07:26 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

3 way switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by mike cook View Post
I need to wire up my plugins so that the bottom is controled by 3 way switches 1 at 1 door then plugs inbetween another door and top of plugs stay hot any ideas or diagrams??? thanks
Bottoms of the receptacles are controlled by the 3-ways and the tops of the receptacles are always hot. Put this diagram together pretty quick.....hopefully someone else can double check it. I only showed three receptacles and I believe you want six but you can get the jist of it.

Make sure the tab on the hot side of the receptacle is broken.

Last edited by hammerlane; 12-04-2013 at 01:10 PM.
hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 07:34 AM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

3 way switches


I highly doubt that diagram will work hammer...box fill will be big issue.

Instead of running the 3 way thru the outlets, just run it from switch to switch.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 07:57 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

3 way switches


try this:

Note: no grounds shown for ease of drawing

Last edited by hammerlane; 12-04-2013 at 01:10 PM.
hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 08:05 AM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

3 way switches


The standard way to do it would be power to the first 3 way, a 3 wire between the switches, and a 3 wire from the first 3 way to the first outlet.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
HouseHelper (05-16-2012), rjniles (05-16-2012)
Old 05-16-2012, 08:25 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

3 way switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
The standard way to do it would be power to the first 3 way, a 3 wire between the switches, and a 3 wire from the first 3 way to the first outlet.
Would be no need for a 3-wire from the 2nd 3-way to the load. Just a 2-wire. But in the case the poster is proposing, by having the receptacles split throws a wrench into it.

If you can do a 3-wire between switches and a 3-wire to the receptacle with the top of the receptacle being always hot and the bottom being switched I'd like to see that.

Last edited by hammerlane; 12-04-2013 at 01:10 PM.
hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 08:47 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

3 way switches


YOu would need to run both a 12-3 (for travelers) and a 12-2 (for raw hot) between the 3 way switches (along the bottom of the above diagram) and feed all of the receptacles around the horn from the right (second switch) using a 12-3 (switched hot, raw hot, neutral) up the right side.

The dilemma is that the neutral must follow the hot and also (2011 National Electric Code) neutral must be provided in all switch boxes.
Attached Thumbnails
3 way switches-lights16.jpg  
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-16-2012 at 09:12 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 08:50 AM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

3 way switches


Here's how I would do it....
Attached Thumbnails
3 way switches-untitled-1-copy.jpg  
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 09:16 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

3 way switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Here's how I would do it....
Your diagram shows power(hot & neutral) coming into the receptacle location whereas mine showed the power coming into one of the switch locations. and as you said in post #9
"The standard way to do it would be power to the first 3 way",

Last edited by hammerlane; 05-16-2012 at 09:58 AM.
hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 09:18 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

3 way switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
YOu would need to run both a 12-3 (for travelers) and a 12-2 (for raw hot) between the 3 way switches (along the bottom of the above diagram) and feed all of the receptacles around the horn from the right (second switch) using a 12-3 (switched hot, raw hot, neutral) up the right side.

The dilemma is that the neutral must follow the hot and also (2011 National Electric Code) neutral must be provided in all switch boxes.

Good way of putting it "raw hot". Unless of course you can find some 12-4 cable???
hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 09:52 AM   #15
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 way switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
The standard way to do it would be power to the first 3 way, a 3 wire between the switches, and a 3 wire from the first 3 way to the first outlet.
This would be the preferred way, and as long as there is access to the second three-way (without the neutral) to add more wires, it will be compliant with NEC 2011.

Advertisement

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two 3-way switches, one acting as a master switch? Ler0y Jenkins Electrical 10 02-28-2012 01:01 PM
Wall Switches - with unknown termination cbjr Electrical 6 02-21-2012 09:15 PM
Replacing old switches RyanS2000 Electrical 4 09-11-2011 04:21 PM
Question about switches on a 20 amp circuit Abs777 Electrical 6 04-28-2010 11:09 AM
Need help replacing switches in four-way circuit magnolia Electrical 3 05-09-2008 10:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts