Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2012, 11:34 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

3-way switch wiring question


I'm changing a light switch which is part of a 3 way wiring setup.

I'm only changing one switch out of the two already there.

I'm confused as to what wire is for what and my new switch has a lot of wires (its a fancy movement detector).

Any help would be appreciated.

First picture is of the switch to be replaced.

Second picture is of the "other" switch in the 3 way setup.

Third picture is of the new switch
Attached Thumbnails
3-way switch wiring question-3-way-switch.jpg   3-way switch wiring question-3-way-switch-2.jpg   3-way switch wiring question-new-switch.jpg  
brightlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 11:56 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,219
Default

3-way switch wiring question


You may not be able to use motion sensor in the box you want to. By looking at the wiring of the switches, it doesn't appear that you have a constant hot in that location. I think you only have a switch leg and travelers available.

Do you need the 3 way set up? You could rewire the switches so your motion detector is the only thing that switches the light.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 11:59 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,219
Default

3-way switch wiring question


Could you post the manufacturer and model #?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 12:26 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
Default

3-way switch wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Could you post the manufacturer and model #?
Cooper Wiring Devices

OS310U Auto On Sensor (Single Output)

Here are the instructions that came with it.
brightlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 12:42 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,219
Default

3-way switch wiring question


Thanks, I am going to need a little help on this one as it is showing you to put the neutral in the first box (second picture) to one of the traveler screws. That just doesn't make sense. You are not allowed to switch a neutral per NEC.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 12:51 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
Default

3-way switch wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Thanks, I am going to need a little help on this one as it is showing you to put the neutral in the first box (second picture) to one of the traveler screws. That just doesn't make sense. You are not allowed to switch a neutral per NEC.
I'm in Canada, does that change something?
brightlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 02:36 PM   #7
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Default

3-way switch wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Thanks, I am going to need a little help on this one as it is showing you to put the neutral in the first box (second picture) to one of the traveler screws. That just doesn't make sense. You are not allowed to switch a neutral per NEC.
i agree, the instructions are a bit misleading i think.

the way i see it, find the two wires (Red and Black) that come into the switch box together (paired wires)
This Black wire would nut onto the Blue traveller, and the Red would nut onto the Red traveller.
Now you have your other black, which goes to Black, and neutral and ground to their respective neutral and ground nuts.

correct me if this sounds wrong.
__________________
Knowledge is Power, but 240v can Keel You!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 03:10 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
Default

3-way switch wiring question


Thanks for your help guys, but I just returned the switch to the store... :-(
brightlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any electricians? Question about a DC switch. Switch is on ground wire(s). Deck Electrical 22 01-14-2012 04:21 PM
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-08-2011 11:00 PM
Backyard wiring questions MikeInDetroit Electrical 1 11-02-2011 09:46 AM
Custom wiring a generator to a transfer switch robojoe_fl Electrical 4 06-08-2011 12:36 AM
old wire, backfed switch question Jack A. Trades Electrical 6 07-03-2008 11:05 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.