Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2014, 03:02 PM   #46
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,168
Rewards Points: 3,130
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3-way switch wiring -- how to fix


Quote:
When I went to the breaker panel and tried resetting the breaker for that circuit, it immediately tripped.
Confirms my new diagram should be the one of how it is connected. The colours of the wires used may not be exactly the same as shown. If you open the fixture you should be able trace the colours and compare them to the diagram.]

The black screw on the switch is the COMMON. The gold or silver ones are the travellers.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 08:30 PM   #47
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3-way switch wiring -- how to fix


I looked inside the light fixture.

There are just two 3-wire cables coming into the box. White from one (guessing switch A) spliced with white from fixture.

Reds are spliced together.

Black from suspected A cable spiced with white from other 3-wire cable (B).

Black from B cable spliced with black from fixture.

So black in switch B should be on common, correct?

Is it possible I have a defective switch?

Cannot turn the power off now and out of town most of tomorrow, but I will check in when I can.

Jimbo
JimboDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 10:55 PM   #48
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,877
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

3-way switch wiring -- how to fix


Quote:
Originally Posted by JimboDIY View Post
I looked inside the light fixture.

There are just two 3-wire cables coming into the box. White from one (guessing switch A) spliced with white from fixture.

Reds are spliced together.

Black from suspected A cable spiced with white from other 3-wire cable (B).

Black from B cable spliced with black from fixture.

So black in switch B should be on common, correct?

Is it possible I have a defective switch?

Cannot turn the power off now and out of town most of tomorrow, but I will check in when I can.

Jimbo
yes,,given your analysis.... black switch B to common

Anything is possible.... but highly unlikely any new switch is bad.

Good going .... I think you have it...... and that certainley was one way to test the 2 wire in A..... There are safer ways..... but that got the job done with no harm.

Glad no harm.......

If you have other wiring issues, invest in a multi-meter. For injstance, I'm not even sure how that circut tester light works... for instance, does it light up for any amount of voltage, does it light greater/brighter with greater voltage.

Anyone know.... ???

Best
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)

Last edited by MTN REMODEL LLC; 04-11-2014 at 11:06 PM.
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 11:10 AM   #49
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3-way switch wiring -- how to fix


I am happy to let everyone who has tried to help solve this challenge that my 3-way switches are now BOTH working as they are supposed to.

Since we confirmed that power comes through switch A and I opened up the light to see how things are connected, I have remained puzzled. The wires were -- I thought -- all connected as per JoeD's latest diagram, and have been since before my first post here. So I went at this again this morning....

I used my new Multimeter to take some measurements,and could figure out why in one state none of the wires in Switch B was really hot. And then I remembered MTN Remodel suggesting that I look on the back of the switches for embossed labelling of Common. Guess what? Switch A's black screw was not in the Common terminal. Someone must have played with it and then returned it to HD. So I wasn't entirely off when I asked if I had a defective switch. Not defective, but not factory settings. So I changed the black screw to Common, attached the wires as per JoeD, and turned the juice back on. Everything works.

Thanks a lot to everyone who posted their ideas and explanations. The net of this is I now have a much clearer understanding of how 3-way switches work, and the different ways of wiring them. Sorry to not have followed Mtn Remodel's suggestion earlier.

Jimbo
JimboDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JimboDIY For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (04-13-2014)
Old 04-13-2014, 11:52 AM   #50
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,877
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

3-way switch wiring -- how to fix


Quote:
Originally Posted by JimboDIY View Post
I am happy to let everyone who has tried to help solve this challenge that my 3-way switches are now BOTH working as they are supposed to.


.

Jimbo
Way to stay with it JIMBO...... it's just a fun puzzle some of the time
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 06:16 PM   #51
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 458
Rewards Points: 256
Default

3-way switch wiring -- how to fix


I just want it on record I solved it back on post #36...
IslandGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 06:41 PM   #52
I am
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Bora Bora
Posts: 458
Rewards Points: 250
Default

3-way switch wiring -- how to fix


Quote:
Originally Posted by IslandGuy View Post
I just want it on record I solved it back on post #36...
Just for the record I solved it at #34..... thats what the xxxxxxx's are, but I erased..

kidding, you got it...

just for you... :- )
Attached Images
 
UnclePhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 07:02 PM   #53
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,877
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

3-way switch wiring -- how to fix


AND JIMBO..... Ya got a new MM out of it.... that's the best part.!!!!
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 07:05 PM   #54
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,877
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

3-way switch wiring -- how to fix


Quote:
Originally Posted by UnclePhil View Post
Just for the record I solved it at #34..... thats what the xxxxxxx's are, but I erased..

kidding, you got it...

just for you... :- )
Well UncP.... You did have a good test for the breaker.... it works good...
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 07:21 PM   #55
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3-way switch wiring -- how to fix


Yes ... UnclePhil ... you did have a pretty good handle on it for sure. Once I knew there were only 2 3-wire cables going through the lamp, I was on my way.
But everyone helped! I got a MM to boot, and found some very cool people too.
... Jimbo

JimboDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3 way switch problem


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Wiring Dimmer Switch scubakathy84 Electrical 2 12-21-2011 11:26 PM
Simple question regarding Wall Switch wiring kebrein Electrical 6 11-25-2011 08:54 PM
Wiring an Intermatic Wall Timer in a three way switch aitutaki98 Electrical 6 07-23-2011 12:43 PM
Unusual three way switch wiring help r1racer Electrical 9 11-11-2010 09:49 PM
Switch on K&T wiring - OK to pigtail? fdmillion Electrical 4 01-27-2010 10:15 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.