Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2010, 03:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

3 way switch - two sources


Hi,

Currently I have two different light fixtures powered by 2 different sources.

I would like to wire the two light fixtures together (handle them as one light), and somehow use 3 way switches to control the light from both places.

Although both switches have 14-2 wire installed, I could replace one of them with a 14-3 wire (to change the other switch's wiring would be a lot of trouble, and not an option at the moment). I also have free access to the light fixtures' wiring.

Is it possible to install a 3 way switch in this scenario (with 14-2 wire from one switch) ?

Thank you.

szmaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 04:28 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Default

3 way switch - two sources


Negative. You will need 14/3 from each switch.

__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 05:31 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,454
Default

3 way switch - two sources


Or you could look for wireless controllers.

http://www.smarthome.com/2533T/Wirel...HW2155D/p.aspx

http://www.nextag.com/wireless-3_-_w...itch/shop-html
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 07:12 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 32
Default

3 way switch - two sources


you will have to run a wire from light to light. Then run 14/3 from switch box to the other switch box
longbeach1125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 09:45 PM   #5
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

3 way switch - two sources


You DO need 3-conductor wire in each switch box, or use wireless like joed suggested.
__________________
Andrew


Last edited by secutanudu; 02-08-2010 at 09:48 PM.
secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 10:14 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Default

3 way switch - two sources


Thank you all for your answers.

I'm going to check out the wireless switches.

Just a thought before I go ahead:
The two sources are on the same breaker. Would it work if I carry only the hot from the 14-2 into the other switch (I'd mark the white wire as hot), and the neutral from the other source?

Is this in line with the code?

szmaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 10:39 AM   #7
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

3 way switch - two sources


Nope, the hot/neutral have to be run together.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 10:42 AM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,454
Default

3 way switch - two sources


You still need three wires at the switches. You said that was not possible.

If you can get three wires to the switch there are many ways to make it work.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3 way switch


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light switch installation problems pc_clone Electrical 8 11-30-2009 09:25 PM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.