Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-31-2012, 04:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

3 way switch to split receptacle


Hi, i am wiring a three way switch to a split receptacle. The order of the circuit is power to switch one to switch two to split receptacle outlets. I have 12/2 from power to the first switch. I have 12/3 from switch two to the outlet. Due to drywall issues my only option is running cable from swtch one to switch two. I need a 12/4 cable but it is not sold around here under 250'. Will it be okay for me to use two 12/2 cables. One for the traveler wires without a neutral and one for the neutral and hot to the always hot half of the split receptacle?

Jrhenry24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 04:57 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Nolfinuer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Default

3 way switch to split receptacle


a blueprint would be nice if you can supply one

Nolfinuer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 05:04 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Default

3 way switch to split receptacle


Power to switch one to switch two to outlet one split receptacle bottom half switched. Cables all must be run in that order only. Already have power to switch one and 12/3 cable from switch two to outlet one. Need 12/4 from switch one to switch two but its not sold in fifty foot lengths. Is it acceptable to use two 12/2 cables or is it necessary for safety to run one 12/2 and one 12/3?
Jrhenry24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 05:12 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,635
Default

3 way switch to split receptacle


Yes, you can use two 12-2's for what you described. It will create a EMF though, but it is legal. And this is how I would do it if I didnt have any 12-4 on the truck.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 07-31-2012 at 05:20 PM.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 05:23 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Default

3 way switch to split receptacle


Thank you stickboy
Jrhenry24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 05:26 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,635
Default

3 way switch to split receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrhenry24 View Post
Thank you stickboy
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 05:52 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

3 way switch to split receptacle


Feed power to switch 2 instead of switch 1.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 05:53 PM   #8
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Default

3 way switch to split receptacle


you're using 12AWG wire, so keep in mind box capacity.
using plastic boxes on this set up you will have about 8 conductors in box #1

i dont recall if wire nuts are counted as 1

what size box would you recommend Stickboy?? 22 cu. in. or larger??
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 05:54 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,635
Default

3 way switch to split receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Feed power to switch 2 instead of switch 1.
Im leading to believe power is already at switch 1? Not sure though.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 05:59 PM   #10
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,635
Default

3 way switch to split receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterZ View Post
you're using 12AWG wire, so keep in mind box capacity.
using plastic boxes on this set up you will have about 8 conductors in box #1

i dont recall if wire nuts are counted as 1

what size box would you recommend Stickboy?? 22 cu. in. or larger??
Wire nuts are not counted, He will need a 22.5 cu. in. for box 1 and box 2....
That would be a deep 1 gang box, but I would vote for a 4" square with a mudring if the drywall was open.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
MisterZ (07-31-2012)
Old 07-31-2012, 06:04 PM   #11
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,903
Default

3 way switch to split receptacle


The OP has not told his location. CEC IN Canada does count wire nuts.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 06:14 PM   #12
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,635
Default

3 way switch to split receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
The OP has not told his location. CEC IN Canada does count wire nuts.
Valid point, I did not know such sillyness existed.


But here is the US version.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 09:57 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Default

3 way switch to split receptacle


Yes power is already to switch one from original wiring. Hvac runs directly under switch two and power is from the basement. I have an 18 cubic inch box in switch two. The original electrician from the 70s had a california three way with one lose unsheathed hot wire between switches and outlet four had (3)12/3 wires plus an outlet in an 18 cu inch metal box. Drywall is knockdown texture and hard to match unless i redid the entire wall.
Jrhenry24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 09:59 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Default

3 way switch to split receptacle


Switch one is approximately 36 cu in double gang. There is an additional light switch and 12/2 to the light there.

Jrhenry24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch & receptacle cover screws? rjniles Electrical 8 09-28-2011 02:59 AM
light and switch connected downstream from GFCI receptacle tim2011 Electrical 1 08-26-2011 04:26 AM
Wiring receptacle > switch > motion sensor lights Van Home Electrical 11 08-09-2010 11:27 PM
split receptacle on three way switch suseagulls Electrical 17 08-05-2010 11:08 AM
ceiling lighting using electrical receptacle with no switch cedar Electrical 8 02-03-2009 06:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.