3 Way Switch To Single Pole Switch - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2012, 11:59 PM   #16
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

3 way switch to single pole switch


There are reasons I suggested to just leave it other than being lazy and not wanting to respond to your specific questions.

One I mentioned in my first post...you cannot bury an electrical box. Now since you explained further, if you change the box from a 2G to a single gang, there is a good chance there will be too many wires in the box...ie the wirefill will exceed the box's rated capacity.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 12:14 AM   #17
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,350
Rewards Points: 3,336
Default

3 way switch to single pole switch


I'm watching this---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 09:55 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch to single pole switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
There are reasons I suggested to just leave it other than being lazy and not wanting to respond to your specific questions.

One I mentioned in my first post...you cannot bury an electrical box. Now since you explained further, if you change the box from a 2G to a single gang, there is a good chance there will be too many wires in the box...ie the wirefill will exceed the box's rated capacity.
Thank you K_BUZ for your coments. I never planned on burying the box, but i didn't hink that it may have to many wires. I still need to rid myself of the one switch so I will have room for my new kitchen counters. I can move the preexisting 3 pole into a single covered box and leave it behind the cabnet and have a new switch that I wil continue to use. Do you know how I can disconect the switch and continue to use the other existing switch? Thanks
ColdYeti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 10:23 AM   #19
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,350
Rewards Points: 3,336
Default

3 way switch to single pole switch


Post a picture of the wiring in both boxes--

That will be helpful --you may be lucky and find that the entire circuit is not needed---we will see---Mike---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:30 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch to single pole switch


First pic I want to keep. Second pic I would like to remove the 3 pole with red wire. I would like to only be able to turn on the light with the switch in the first pic. I assumed I could connect the wires in pic 2 and then put it all in a single box with the remaining switch. Hope this helps. Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
3 way switch to single pole switch-img_2104.jpg   3 way switch to single pole switch-img_2106.jpg  

Last edited by ColdYeti; 07-01-2012 at 11:35 PM. Reason: Clarification
ColdYeti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 07:24 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

3 way switch to single pole switch


Take out the switch you want to remove. Detach all wires to it but recall which wire goes to which terminal.

Take the wire that went to the common terminal---the black screw.

Connect this wire with either one of the other wires from the switch.

Put a wire nut on the remaining wire.

The other switch will now function as a single pole switch.

The colors of the wires in the following diagrams may not correspond to your setup. Ground is not shown for clarity.
Attached Thumbnails
3 way switch to single pole switch-3-way-power-into-light.jpg   3 way switch to single pole switch-3-way-power-into-light-switch-removed.jpg  

Last edited by hammerlane; 07-02-2012 at 07:27 AM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 12:14 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch to single pole switch


Hammerlane you are a ...Genius! Thanks so much for the diagram. Everything is working great. Thanks for everything!

Advertisement

ColdYeti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Convert three way switch setup to a single pole Casey9004 Electrical 13 05-31-2012 09:46 PM
single pole switch with pilot light tsc2011 Electrical 8 11-29-2011 08:50 AM
Single Pole Light Switch with 4 Wires dmwiecz Electrical 6 11-22-2010 07:41 PM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 02:11 AM
Help with single pole switch ballutster Electrical 2 10-13-2008 08:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts