3 Way Switch Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2009, 07:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch question


quick question i hope!
I have a light that is controlled by two 3-way switches.
i have everything hooked up correctly for the two 3-way switches to work, the problem im having is that the circuit continues to another light from the light that is hooked to the 3-way switches, i need to know how to keep constant power to the other light.

Advertisement

theBuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 08:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 way switch question


Quote:
the circuit continues to another light from the light that is hooked to the 3-way switches
You obviously need to feed that light fron a source of constant power.

Is there constant power in the light box it is fed from or is it just the switch leg in there?

You may have to feed it from a switch box or receptacle box.

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 08:13 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch question


constant power comes in box to 3-way, then goes to light, then another 3-way goes to the light, and the circuit i need to tie into is in the light box as well
theBuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 08:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 way switch question


Too vague. No patience for 50 questions.

Describe the cable type and route.

2 wire cable = black and white.

3 wire cable = black red and white.

Ignore the bare ground for this discussion

Use the terms switch one and switch two for the two 3 way switch locations.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 08:36 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch question


i have a 2 wire cable for constant power coming into switch one, the white constant connected to white going to light, black constant connected to switch, black and red connected to switch going to light, the white wire is connected to light, the black wire is connected to (3 wire cable)white wire going to switch two, red is travel wire from switch one to switch two, and the black wire from switch two is connected to light. i hope this is not too confusing
theBuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 08:53 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 way switch question


Quote:
i hope this is not too confusing

OK...focus.


Quote:
i have a 2 wire cable for constant power coming into switch one
You started off great but quickly digressed.

Describe the cable type and entire route. Forget the wiring connections for now.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 08:55 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch question


2 wire constant into switch one, from switch one 3 wire cable to light, 3 wire cable from light to switch two, 2 wire cable from light to another circuit
theBuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 09:05 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 way switch question


THERE you go

You don't have a hot in switch #2 (one wire short)



You need to feed the "other circuit" from switch one instead of switch #2

edit. Actually that's all jacked up. I don't see how it can even work the one light properly?

Are the walls still open?

Last edited by 220/221; 10-06-2009 at 09:12 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 09:07 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch question


but the other circuit is in the light box, do i need to move the wire from the light to switch one or another power source?

the light works fine the way it is

Last edited by theBuilder; 10-06-2009 at 09:24 PM.
theBuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 09:25 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 way switch question


Quote:
but the other circuit is in the light box, do i need to move the wire from the light to switch one or another power source?
Crap.....again I am having trouble with your terminology. The only "power source" you have now is in switch #1.

You have

2 wire constant into switch one, from switch one 3 wire cable to light, 3 wire cable from light to switch two, 2 wire cable from light to another circuit


The way I read it, "another circuit" is actually "another light" that for some reason needs constant power (pullchain?)

Also, you said that the 3 ways worked but I can't see how.





This would be a standard method of wiring


2 wire constant into switch one,

3 wire cable from switch one to switch two.

2 wire cable from either switch to light

2 wire cable from switch one to "another circuit/another light that needs constant power"
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 09:33 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch question


well this was a bathroom that we are renovating, and the power to part of the house gets its power from the light in the bathroom

your method is right except i have a switch on either side of the light, and the "other circuit" is just going to the adjacent room and bathroom to supply them power

I have the light and switches hooked up exactly as you should with a switch/light/switch hookup, i just can't figure out which wires to get my continuous power from out of the light box to go to the rest of the house
theBuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 09:34 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 way switch question


Quote:
quick question i hope!


I see how the 3way is working. It is unothodox (in my area anyway) but it works.

The only constant power you have is in switch #1 so you will have to feed your other bathroom light from switch #1 or some other source. There is no hot or neutral in sw #2 and no hot in the light box.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 09:36 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch question


ok, well i'll work on that, i appreciate your help, ha, yeah i guess it wasn't such a quick question. thanks again
theBuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 09:58 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3 way switch question


I believe this drawing is what you have the brown wire in the drawing is what is missing.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 10:29 PM   #15
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,388
Rewards Points: 3,570
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3 way switch question


You do not have a constant hot at the light. You only have neutral and switched hot and two traveler wires. If you want to power your second light from the first light then you need a fourth wire from switch one to the fixture.
You should pull power for the second light from the first switch with the power cable.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another 3-way switch question. perpetual98 Electrical 10 07-21-2009 12:16 PM
Motion switch wired to two circuits Sibkuz Electrical 2 04-22-2009 08:31 PM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 08:11 AM
Beginner Question - Residental Switch willedon Electrical 6 03-31-2008 09:12 PM
changing a fixture to an outlet - keeping the switch aweshucks Electrical 4 12-27-2007 06:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts