Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-11-2009, 11:22 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Lightbulb

3-way switch problem


I have 3 wires running into a single gang nail up box. Two are 14-2 and a 14-3. This will be a 3-way switch. The issue i am having is normally there is only a 14-2 and a 14-3 wire in this type of box. The first 14-2 wire is going to the panel. The second 14-2 wire is going to the lights. The 14-3 wire is going to the other switch location. how can i make this work

Urfireman000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 11:53 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Far Southern Illinois
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 25
Default

3-way switch problem


Connect the neutrals(white) of the 2 14-2 cables.

Connect the black of the 14-2 that feeds the lights to the line/load terminal of the first 3-way.

Use a sharpie to mark the white of the 14-3 as hot (black at both ends).

Connect the re-coded white to the black wire of the 14-2 coming from the panel.

Connect the black & red wires of the 14-3 to the traveler terminals of the first 3-way.

At the second 3-way, connect the red & black conductors of the 14-3 to the traveler terminals, and the re-coded white to the line/load terminal.

Good luck,

Keith

KeithM62948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 12:57 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3-way switch problem


Thanks i'll try it
Urfireman000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 02:23 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,927
Rewards Points: 2,648
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3-way switch problem


This is what you need to do.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 02:55 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3-way switch problem


Although the result is the same, I always send the power to the dead ended switch on the black.

14/2 power in and 14/3 blacks together.

14/2 whites together.

Blacks to common terminals.

red/white travelers.

Sharpie smarpie
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 06:39 PM   #6
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3-way switch problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Although the result is the same, I always send the power to the dead ended switch on the black.

14/2 power in and 14/3 blacks together...
Except that this is a code violation. A cable, other than the source cable, used to feed power to a switch (a switch leg), must have the power sent to the switch on the white (re-identified) and not be used as the return conductor from the switch. 200.7 (C)(2)
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 06:53 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,927
Rewards Points: 2,648
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3-way switch problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
Except that this is a code violation. A cable, other than the source cable, used to feed power to a switch (a switch leg), must have the power sent to the switch on the white (re-identified) and not be used as the return conductor from the switch. 200.7 (C)(2)
Except this is not a switch leg. The power does not go to the fixture first. The intent of that code article is not have the light connected to two white wires.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 07:02 PM   #8
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3-way switch problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Except this is not a switch leg. The power does not go to the fixture first.
Then let's call it a switch loop, as the code book does, and yes it is a switch loop. It doesn't have to go to the fixture first. Read the code section (not trying to be snippy, an jerk, or anything).

Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The intent of that code article is not have the light connected to two white wires.
This I agree with.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 07:07 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,927
Rewards Points: 2,648
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3-way switch problem


2008 code has been reworded to say refering to the white

'used for the supply to the switch but not as the return conductor from the switch to the switch outlet.' Note the switched outlet part.

A switch loop/leg is power at the fixture first then to the switch and returning in the same cable. 14/3 between 3way switches is not a switch loop.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 06-11-2009 at 07:21 PM.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem changing light switch grgryl Electrical 14 08-10-2008 01:26 PM
3 way switch problem Rschrei518 Electrical 2 01-04-2008 12:35 AM
changing a fixture to an outlet - keeping the switch aweshucks Electrical 4 12-27-2007 05:06 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
combo switch problem electric1 Electrical 2 06-11-2004 10:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.