3-way Switch - Powered Switch In Middle? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2012, 05:16 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3-way switch - powered switch in middle?


I have an existing light with a single switch near the middle of the kitchen. I want to put in a three-way switch with the second switch located by the kitchen entrance. So far, easy enough.

The problem is that it is simple to wire from the existing switch to the new switch location but not from the light to the new switch location. This means I would end up with powered switch in the middle. New 14-3 going out one way to second switch, and the existing 14-2 from the middle switch to the light.

I can't find any example of how to wire a 3-way switch with SW->SW->Light and power going into the middle switch. Can it be done?

Advertisement

dalepres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 05:44 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

3-way switch - powered switch in middle?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dalepres View Post
I have an existing light with a single switch near the middle of the kitchen. I want to put in a three-way switch with the second switch located by the kitchen entrance. So far, easy enough.

The problem is that it is simple to wire from the existing switch to the new switch location but not from the light to the new switch location. This means I would end up with powered switch in the middle. New 14-3 going out one way to second switch, and the existing 14-2 from the middle switch to the light.

I can't find any example of how to wire a 3-way switch with SW->SW->Light and power going into the middle switch. Can it be done?
It wouldn't work if you came out of the light anyway... unless you were one lucky guy that for some reason already had a 3 conductor run to the exiting light.

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 05:45 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

3-way switch - powered switch in middle?


Yes you can take an existing working switch and light setup and run a 3 wire cable from the existing switch location to the new switch location and make a 3 way setup.

Remove the power wire from the old switch and connect it to the common terminal (usually darker colored or with a "C" engraved near it) of a 3 way switch.

Remove the light fixture wire (black) from the old switch and connect it to the black wire of the new 3 wire cable going to the other switch location.

Connect the new cable red and white wires to the traveler terminals of the 3 way switch.

At the new switch location connect the red and white wires to the traveler terminals of the other 3 way switch and connect the black wire to the common terminal.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-12-2012 at 05:51 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 05:58 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

3-way switch - powered switch in middle?


stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 06:04 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

3-way switch - powered switch in middle?


or like this, either way will work...

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 06:34 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3-way switch - powered switch in middle?


Thanks, Allan and Stickyboy. I'll try it out in the morning.
dalepres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 06:49 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,376
Rewards Points: 3,546
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3-way switch - powered switch in middle?


14/3 from the old switch is the only way to make this work.

This has come up so many times I have created a document about it. Here it is.

This is simple once you get the cable to the new switch.
I am going to skip ground wires in the description. Connect all of them together and to the switch if it has a ground screw.

Remove the two wires from the existing switch. Leave everything else alone. The wires could be both black or black and white. Might even be black and red. It doesn't matter.
Connect one wire to the common screw of your new three way switch#1.
Connect the other wire to the black wire to your new switch#2.
Connect the red and white wires to the remaining two traveller screws of the new switch#1.

At new switch#2 connect the black to the common screw.
Connect the red and white wires to the remaining two traveller screws of the new switch#2.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 11:46 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 221
Rewards Points: 150
Default

3-way switch - powered switch in middle?


Here is stickboy1375 drawing in a less schematic look. Sorry I had to use blue for the white wire.

This diagram is wrong. Please ignore this post
Name:  0way.jpg
Views: 646
Size:  631 Bytes
3-way switch - powered switch in middle?-3way.jpg
Post kept for historic reference.

Goosebarry

Last edited by goosebarry; 06-13-2012 at 03:28 PM.
goosebarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 11:59 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 221
Rewards Points: 150
Default

3-way switch - powered switch in middle?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
14/3 from the old switch is the only way to make this work.

This has come up so many times I have created a document about it. Here it is.


There are actually 5 permutations for how to connect up 3 way switches to a single load and 3 additional for multiple loads (Flashback to 9th grade shop class). The one you show is not the OP set-up.
goosebarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:06 AM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,033
Rewards Points: 2,864
Default

3-way switch - powered switch in middle?


Quote:
Originally Posted by goosebarry View Post
Here is stickboy1375 drawing in a less schematic look. Sorry I had to use blue for the white wire.

Attachment 52382
The white should be the supply to the switch, not a traveler. Incoming power to re-marked white. Re-marked white to common at 2nd switch, black and red as travelers.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:18 AM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,376
Rewards Points: 3,546
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3-way switch - powered switch in middle?


Quote:
Originally Posted by goosebarry View Post
Here is stickboy1375 drawing in a less schematic look. Sorry I had to use blue for the white wire.

Attachment 52382

Those look like normal switches with the white wire on the ground screw.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:22 AM   #12
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,376
Rewards Points: 3,546
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3-way switch - powered switch in middle?


Quote:
Originally Posted by goosebarry View Post
There are actually 5 permutations for how to connect up 3 way switches to a single load and 3 additional for multiple loads (Flashback to 9th grade shop class). The one you show is not the OP set-up.
How do you figure this is not what he has. this is what he said in the original post.
Quote:
New 14-3 going out one way to second switch, and the existing 14-2 from the middle switch to the light.
one 14/3 and one 14/2.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:24 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3-way switch - powered switch in middle?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
How do you figure this is not what he has. this is what he said in the original post.

one 14/3 and one 14/2.
OP has power to switch, you show power to light first. I think
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:31 AM   #14
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3-way switch - powered switch in middle?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The white should be the supply to the switch, not a traveler. Incoming power to re-marked white. Re-marked white to common at 2nd switch, black and red as travelers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Those look like normal switches with the white wire on the ground screw.
Goose's drawing is totally off, and yes those are SP switches.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:32 AM   #15
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,033
Rewards Points: 2,864
Default

3-way switch - powered switch in middle?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Those look like normal switches with the white wire on the ground screw.
I thought something looked funny, but the coffee hadn't kicked in yet.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
Illuminated switch ??? dave95sps Electrical 5 05-29-2011 06:11 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 07:43 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 02:24 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 08:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts