Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2011, 12:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

3 way switch with pilot light


I am interested in installing a 3 way switch that has a pilot light in it. I've done a lot of research and want to make sure it will/won't work. The link contains my current setup and I would want to put the 3 ways switch with pilot in 3 way switch No. 1. Do I need to run an extra wire between the switches or will the pilot work as planned?

http://www.homeimprovementweb.com/in...ch-option5.htm

travesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 01:19 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,864
Default

3 way switch with pilot light


Is the switch light supposed to be on:
1. When the main light is on?
2. When the main light is off?
3. All the time?

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 01:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Default

3 way switch with pilot light


I would like the pilot light on the switch to be on when the main light is on.

The switch with the pilot light is in my living room, which controls the lights in the garage. The other three way switch is in the garage.
travesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 02:10 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,386
Default

3 way switch with pilot light


Since switch #1 has the neutral it might work, but I don't think so since the switched power is in the other box. The other box has the switched power and the neutral so it should work there no problem.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 06:28 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 66
Default

3 way switch with pilot light


Both switches have power on them all the time through one of the travelers. In your diagram both boxes have neutrals in them. The internal connections in the switch take care of the lighted switch.

Watch....

Bob

Last edited by Hourglass52; 01-06-2011 at 06:42 PM.
Hourglass52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 06:38 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

3 way switch with pilot light


You will need a 4-conductor cable between the 3-way switches in order for a pilot light switch to work at location #1.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 07:33 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 66
Default

3 way switch with pilot light


Where would this 4th wire hook up to??


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
You will need a 4-conductor cable between the 3-way switches in order for a pilot light switch to work at location #1.
This is not a 4 wire configuration. The switched common is the 14/2 going to the light/load. It is still 14/3 with 2 travelers and a neutral.
The switched common is not connected to the power common in the right box. If it was the light would never turn off.
The pilot light is internally connected in the switch. I have the part number somewhere.



Last edited by Hourglass52; 01-06-2011 at 08:00 PM.
Hourglass52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 09:36 PM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,939
Default

3 way switch with pilot light


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hourglass52 View Post
Where would this 4th wire hook up to??




This is not a 4 wire configuration. The switched common is the 14/2 going to the light/load. It is still 14/3 with 2 travelers and a neutral.
The switched common is not connected to the power common in the right box. If it was the light would never turn off.
The pilot light is internally connected in the switch. I have the part number somewhere.


Your sketch shows 4 conductors between the switches. The OP only has 3.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 09:45 PM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

3 way switch with pilot light


Sorry Bob but Kbsparky is correct. Your going to need 4 wire cable between switches for a pilot light 3 way switch to work in the line position or switch one in the diagram. If I'm not mistaken even the diagram you posted has 4 wires.
Attached Thumbnails
3 way switch with pilot light-leviton-wiring-diagram-3-way-pilot-light.jpg  
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 01-06-2011 at 09:51 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 06:00 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 66
Default

3 way switch with pilot light


I didn't get the original op question. I thought he wanted both switches lit, load off. Your diagram makes sense to me.

Last edited by Hourglass52; 01-07-2011 at 06:04 AM.
Hourglass52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 09:29 AM   #11
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

3 way switch with pilot light


No problem Hourglass

Hey .. I really like your color choices for the travelers in your diagram ..
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 09:42 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 66
Default

3 way switch with pilot light


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
No problem Hourglass

Hey .. I really like your color choices for the travelers in your diagram ..
I copied that from somewhere.
One of the problems I find with old work is don't get hung up on what color it is. Just pay attention to where is goes.
When I worked in Tennessee some times we pulled what ever color we had on the truck. I was just a kid then.

Bob
Hourglass52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 12:38 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Default

3 way switch with pilot light


Thanks for all the help guys. Those diagrams are a little over my head so I just used regular 3-way switches to complete my project. Thanks again.

travesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to diagnose gas valve problems Nestor_Kelebay How To Guides 28 10-30-2013 04:19 PM
Pilot Light works once, then have to re-light after furnace goes off aransas42 HVAC 8 09-30-2009 07:49 AM
pilot light confusion please help fastcarsca1 HVAC 4 10-04-2008 02:44 PM
Is a pilot light supose to stay on? simonb HVAC 2 06-11-2008 05:16 PM
pilot light reignition on older williams model Unregistered HVAC 1 02-17-2004 09:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.