Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2011, 07:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

3-Way switch not working properly


I am installing lighting in my basement and have installed a pair of 3-way switches (one is a 3-way dimmer switch). I have 14-2 running from the service panel to the first switch. I then have 14-3 running from the first switch to the second switch (the dimmer switch), then 14-2 running to the first light, then to the second light, third, etc.

All the lights appear to be functioning properly and the dimmers are doing what they are supposed to do. However when I turn the power off at the first switch I cannot turn the lights on with the second (dimmer) switch. I MUST have the first switch ON in order to use the dimmer switch.

I was under the impression that if I used 3-way switches at both ends and wired them in this fashion that I would be able to turn the lights on and off at either switch and then use the dimmer to control the brightness. Is this not the case?

I can get more specific as far as how exactly I have each switch wired if need be.

Thanks in advance!

KG4ONJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 07:19 PM   #2
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,633
Rewards Points: 22
Default

3-Way switch not working properly


I'm not a romex guy but you mixed up the travelers and a power---pull the switched out of the box and take a picture of each and post that.

If you used the back stab holes instead of the screws---the holes aren't in line with the colored screws --so you may think you have it right but the goofy holes messed you up.

Wait for a Romex guy to come on--the electricians are all at a BBQ tonight and left me to man the phones.

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 07:32 PM   #3
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-Way switch not working properly


I think the dimmer black screw has to receive the power from the panel at least that is how it was stated in the directions for the dimmer I installed. Not sure how important that is though.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 07:42 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

3-Way switch not working properly


Did a quicky search on Yahoo, and found these http://images.search.yahoo.com/searc...dimmer+diagram
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 09:29 PM   #5
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-Way switch not working properly


As Corsair mentioned, double check the instructions. If it doesn’t specify, double check you have the black of the source on the common of the first switch and the black of the load on the common of the dimmer. Situations like yours are commonly the fault of a traveller and the common being reversed.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Payne 376C Still not working properly dhigginx HVAC 4 06-11-2011 07:25 PM
Bathroom vent/fan not working properly proofer Electrical 0 10-31-2009 09:38 AM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
three-way only working on one switch amydawn Electrical 11 07-11-2006 05:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.