Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-20-2010, 11:47 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 Way Switch Issue (after replacement)


I'm having some trouble after replacing a three way switch...

I have one switch that is a standard 3 way toggle and one that was an older dimmer. They switch the bottom of one outlet I have with a lamp plugged into it. Everything worked fine, until I went to switch out the dimmer!

Installed a new Lutron dimmer, and wired it the same way. Everything seemed to work fine with the switch wired up and still hanging from the wall.

I continued to then switch out all the outlets in that room with tamper proof outlets. No problems, straight forward swap out.

Turned back on the power after my work was done and had put the switch back into the wall, and noticed the dimmer switch doesn't work!

All the outlets work fine, but the switch does not work from either end anymore. I replaced the toggle, tried the old dimmer again, a different dimmer...nothing! Can't get it work even on the old set up. I feel like i've tried everything and wasted countless hours on this, checked all my wiring, even on all the outlets.

Why would a three way switch setup just stop working? All the wiring is the same....any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

mpukit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 12:15 PM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,257
Rewards Points: 1,010
Default

3 Way Switch Issue (after replacement)


If only half the outlet is switch-controlled, you probably need to break the little tab connecting the gold screws on the side of the outlet (but not the silver screws). Do you have the old outlet? If so, take a look at it and see which tabs, if any, are broken.

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to secutanudu For This Useful Post:
mpukit (09-20-2010)
Old 09-20-2010, 12:23 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

3 Way Switch Issue (after replacement)


One of the recetaple you will see a small brass tab between the two brass screw that part you will have to break off with needle nose piler and look at the junction box to see if you have red conductor if so that what you need to do it.

Merci,
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
mpukit (09-20-2010)
Old 09-20-2010, 12:25 PM   #4
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,257
Rewards Points: 1,010
Default

3 Way Switch Issue (after replacement)


I beat you to it, Marc!!!!
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 12:32 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

3 Way Switch Issue (after replacement)


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
I beat you to it, Marc!!!!
Yep you did I should drink little more Coffee.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 12:34 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

3 Way Switch Issue (after replacement)


To OP.,

Did the dimmer switch was used to the recepteale or that was go to the wall or ceiling luminaire ??

The reason why I ask due the Code do not allowed dimmer to be on the receptale unless you have special designed recpectale to be used conjuction with the dimmer.

Merci,
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 12:34 PM   #7
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,534
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

3 Way Switch Issue (after replacement)


Secut... Gets a Gold Star
Marc.....Gets a Gold Star for bringing up the receptacle issue
.
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery

Last edited by PaliBob; 09-20-2010 at 12:37 PM.
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PaliBob For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (09-20-2010)
Old 09-20-2010, 12:39 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 Way Switch Issue (after replacement)


"They switch the bottom of one outlet I have" ....... "Installed a new Lutron dimmer."


Dimmers shouldn't control an outlet anyway. They're meant for only for permanently installed light fixtures. (by Code)

Plug a TV into the outlet, and you'll see why
alfred e neuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 02:33 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 Way Switch Issue (after replacement)


Appreciate the quick replies. Makes sense...It must be the tab on the side, never noticed that!

The dimmer is connected to an outlet with a lamp plugged in, and has been that way since 1968. I know its probably not to code, but nothing but that lamp is ever plugged into this spot...I wouldn't plug my tv there.
mpukit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 02:35 PM   #10
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,257
Rewards Points: 1,010
Default

3 Way Switch Issue (after replacement)


You could get something like this....it would be to code, but probably not in the spot you want it if you're used to using the switch.

http://www.amazon.com/Lutron-TT-300N.../dp/B0000DI241
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 03:52 PM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,162
Rewards Points: 3,118
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3 Way Switch Issue (after replacement)


By code a dimmer can NOT be used to control a receptacle. You don't know what the next person might plug in. If you dimmed a tv you could let the smoke out. Once it's out you never get it back in.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 04:12 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 Way Switch Issue (after replacement)


Thanks guys.

mpukit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Condenser Fan Cycling Switch Replacement wirenut1110 HVAC 2 01-23-2010 10:29 AM
New pressure switch and inducer and still incorrect drafting kevintabb HVAC 5 01-19-2010 01:59 PM
Light Switch to Detached Garage - Grounding Issue smitty286 Electrical 1 10-22-2008 01:17 PM
ceiling fan dimmer switch issue irich Electrical 4 02-10-2008 11:23 PM
Ceiling Fan Light Switch Replacement leanthinkin Electrical 2 08-22-2006 01:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.