Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2012, 11:43 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

3 way switch issue


Hi all. I am installing a 3 way switch and am having a bit of an issue getting both to work properly. I followed the below diagram



Switch A has the main line coming in. In order for B to continue power to the lights A has to be switched on, even though there is no on off on a 3 way. If A is switched on B works just perfect. I am sure there is something with my traveler wire thats screwing this up but I can't find it.

If someone can pinpoint what is causing this issue it would be great.

Thanks

handyandiknowit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 12:15 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,656
Default

3 way switch issue


I'm not gonna trace what you have... except to confirm this sequence:
--> 2Wire Feed --> 3Way <--3Wire--> Light <--3Wire--> 3Way

Assuming that is all correct... do this:

At 1st Sw Box:
1) white from feed ties to white in the 3Wire
2) BLACK from 2W connects to 'point' terminal on 1st 3Way switch
3) Remaining Red and Black go to traveler terminals on 3way

At Light Box:

1) Red and Black wires get wirenutted together
1) White from 1st box = neutral and goes to fixture
3) White from 2nd sw box = "point", gets a piece of tape on it, and goes to fixture

At 2nd Switch Box:
Red and Black go to traveler terminals on 3way
White wire gets a piece of tape on it, then goes to "point" terminal.

Done.

hth

ps: What you have called "common" is the "point" wire.


Last edited by TarheelTerp; 01-06-2012 at 12:24 PM.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 12:15 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,454
Default

3 way switch issue


The diagram you posted is incorrect. The black screw(common) on the right switch should have the black wire not the white marked black.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 12:39 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

3 way switch issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The diagram you posted is incorrect. The black screw(common) on the right switch should have the black wire not the white marked black.
Yup...good catch Joed. He messed up the travelers with the common on the right switch.

Putting aside wire colors, the wire coming off the common terminal on the right switch should go directly to the light.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 01:34 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
Default

3 way switch issue


TY Tarheel. That did the fix and now the switches worked just fine. You da man.
handyandiknowit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 03:03 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,454
Default

3 way switch issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
At Light Box:[/U]
1) Red and Black wires get wirenutted together
1) White from 1st box = neutral and goes to fixture
3) White from 2nd sw box = "point", gets a piece of tape on it, and goes to fixture

At 2nd Switch Box:
Red and Black go to traveler terminals on 3way
White wire gets a piece of tape on it, then goes to "point" terminal.

Done.

hth

ps: What you have called "common" is the "point" wire.
This is not code compliant. You now have two white wires going to the fixture. You must use the white(marked black) as the traveller and the black as the feed to the fixture.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 05:11 PM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,979
Default

3 way switch issue


IMO, wiring the 3 conductor cable through the fixture box (although code compliant) is the most confusing way to go. Run the 3 wire cable directly from switch to switch.

Makes trouble shooting a lot easier.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
motion sensor switch issue bkvanbek Electrical 2 12-16-2011 04:19 PM
Generator Transfer Switch Trouble wgramer Electrical 23 11-12-2011 07:23 PM
Bryant Rollout switch recurring issue TruckTahoe HVAC 3 01-24-2011 07:41 PM
1 pole + 3 way switch momof2labs Electrical 1 05-22-2010 10:37 AM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.