Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2010, 05:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

3-way switch installation - TI070-3W Aube


I was previously helped in this thread a couple months ago and I'm here for similar advice. I was hoping someone could tell me how to hook up the wires on an Aube TI070-3W light switch I just bought. This is for my front porch lights and there are two switches controlling them, so I'm assuming this means it's a 3-way installation.

There are four wires that come out of the Aube switch; line (black), load (black), 3 way (yellow), and ground (green). The package also came with a small red jumper wire, not in the pictures below.

There are tons of wires coming out of the wall. The previous switch used two black wires (no labels for line or load on the wires nor the switch), a red wire, and a copper wire.

Can anyone tell me which wires should connect to which?


TI034-3W manual:
http://www.aubetech.com/manuel/2/TI070.pdf

Picture 1:

Picture 2:

Picture 3:

Local Dimwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 06:15 PM   #2
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-way switch installation - TI070-3W Aube


You need to know which wire is your power wire. You also need to know where your power originates, so you will know how to wire the new timer. your other three way is going to be essentially a single pole switch when your done. Without knowing where your power comes from there is no way to know exactly. Your green wire goes to the bare copper for sure.

codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 06:23 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-way switch installation - TI070-3W Aube


I'll break out the volt meter soon. I know that one black from the wall is line and the other is load, and that last time I did this the line was on the bottom (which I believe is not the standard), so I'll definitely test for which is which.

If
Line --> Line
Load --> Load
Green --> Copper

...it's not as simple as the switch's yellow 3-way going to the red wire, is it? That'd be great if it was, but I've been told before that you can f up the switch by incorrectly hooking up to a red wire. To be 100% honest, I have no idea what a red wire even means.
Local Dimwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 06:29 PM   #4
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-way switch installation - TI070-3W Aube


On a normal 3-way you have a common that comes from the power, and a common that goes to the light. then you have what is called 2 travelers. This is so you can have 2 paths to make your circle (circuit) with. Then you have a neutral connection.
Attached Thumbnails
3-way switch installation - TI070-3W Aube-3-way-switch-wiring-diagram.jpg  
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 06:34 PM   #5
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-way switch installation - TI070-3W Aube


Heres another configuration you could have.
Attached Thumbnails
3-way switch installation - TI070-3W Aube-3-way-switch-wiring-diagram1.jpg  
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 07:14 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,596
Rewards Points: 128
Default

3-way switch installation - TI070-3W Aube


You need to identify which wire was on the common before you removed the switch.
The link you provided has some very good drawings of how to connect the unit. You need to put a jumper on the other switch or replace it with a normal single pole switch
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 10:25 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-way switch installation - TI070-3W Aube


Whoa. There's a lot more to this than I was expecting. Thanks for the info.

How can I identify which was on the common? The instructions say to "identify and label the wire connected to the 'common' screw," but I don't know what a common screw is. None of the four wires from the wall appear to be coming from or going to anything special.
Local Dimwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 10:30 PM   #8
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-way switch installation - TI070-3W Aube


The one on the common was the one on the black screw.

Your picture is not that clear, however the cable that has the black and red together are the travelers, the black that was by itself is your common.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 10:38 PM   #9
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-way switch installation - TI070-3W Aube


The common looks like it would be the one you have marked #1 if you havent moved them from their positions they were in when you took them off the switch.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 07:00 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-way switch installation - TI070-3W Aube


Thank you codeone. The common is the 2nd black wire, that's the one that went to the black screw.

So, just to be sure:

Load --> Common (Black wire #2)
Ground --> Copper wire
Line --> Black wire #1
3-way --> Red wire

Does that look correct? Also, is the jumper wire necessary for the other switch? I'd be perfectly happy to never touch that switch again.
Local Dimwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 08:48 PM   #11
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-way switch installation - TI070-3W Aube


If that is the one you took off the common yes that looks correct. Yes you will need the jumper on the other switch or you could bypass it using one of the single diagrams on your cut sheet.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 08:58 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-way switch installation - TI070-3W Aube


Quote:
Originally Posted by codeone View Post
If that is the one you took off the common yes that looks correct. Yes you will need the jumper on the other switch or you could bypass it using one of the single diagrams on your cut sheet.
Sorry to keep harping away, but seriously, you're a lifesaver. I can't thank you enough.

I'm looking at the single diagram in the manual, and it doesn't say anything about a red wire. If I were to hook the following together:

Load --> Common (Black wire #2)
Ground --> Copper wire
Line --> Black wire #1
3-way --> Black wire #1 (Line, 3-way, Black wire #1 all in one nut)

... does that mean I can just tape up and tuck the red wire away and not worry about the other switch?
Local Dimwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 09:11 PM   #13
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-way switch installation - TI070-3W Aube


If you look at the 2 single switch diagrams you will notice the purple and black line on your timer are tied together. Then your black traveler and line on your other three way are jumpered together. If you do that you can insulate the red and on both ends and ignore it. your other switch will not work at all then, and if you ever wanted to put it back you could. Just mark your wires for where they are now for future restoration.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 08:26 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-way switch installation - TI070-3W Aube


codeone, I can't thank you enough. It's in, it's working, and it looks fantastic. There is absolutely no way I could have done this without you. Thank you so much!!



For thread completeness purposes, I ended up using the jumper on the second switch, which was much easier than I expected. So if anyone comes across this in future Google searches, I used:

Switch #1:
Load --> Common (Black wire #2) (common wire can be identified by black screw on existing switch)
Ground --> Copper wire
Line --> Black wire #1
3-way --> Red wire

Switch #2:
No change, other than attaching red jumper wire to load and line (the two black wires).
Local Dimwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 08:37 PM   #15
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-way switch installation - TI070-3W Aube


COOL!GOOD JOB!

codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch now controls large area... froddan Electrical 5 12-06-2009 10:04 PM
Hunter Fan Dual Switch Wiring Configuration Help schierle Electrical 2 03-29-2009 08:00 PM
Wiring from light to switch and on poorjohn Electrical 3 03-16-2009 01:23 PM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 01:11 AM
Light Switch to Detached Garage - Grounding Issue smitty286 Electrical 1 10-22-2008 12:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.