Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-30-2009, 08:29 PM   #31
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,472
Share |
Default

3 way Switch Install


The situation you are asking for originally will work like this.
The two three ways will turn on all the lights. When all the lights are on IF you want to turn of L4 you can use the switch. The switch will only turn off L4 and L4 will only work if the other lights are already on.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 09:04 PM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Folsom, CA. US
Posts: 26
Default

3 way Switch Install


That's no good. If it's not possible to have S4 only turn on L4 with the others off, let's just forget about S4 & L4 altogether.

So the only thing to do is add L3 to the same 15 amp circuit of L1 & L2 and have them all on a 3-way at S1 & S2.
selvan777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 09:18 PM   #33
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,472
Default

3 way Switch Install


That can be done. What is the current setup? SW1 &2 currently operate the lights separately?
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 09:24 AM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Folsom, CA. US
Posts: 26
Default

3 way Switch Install


Yes, as is, S1 & 2 operate L1 & 2 respectively on a single 15amp ckt and S4 to L4 on another.

Ultimately, I want to be able to turn ON & OFF L4 with S4 while still being able to turn ON and OFF all 4 lights with S1 & 2. I don't know but if it means having to have an additional switch for L4 (S5) than so it be. If not, let's drop S4 & L4 from the picture.

Thanks for your patience, not being too familiar with the basic rules of this beast makes it a bit difficult to even relay the correct questions.
selvan777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 11:34 AM   #35
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,472
Default

3 way Switch Install


To add L3 simply run a cable from either of the existing L1 or L2 to the new location. I can't think of a way have L4 independent other than as previously described.
Now if you had a two bulb fixture or two fixtures, one bulb could be with S1,S2,S3 and the second bulb controlled by s4. There would really be five bulbs. 1,2,3,4 controlled by s1,s2, and a new s3, and a 5th bulb controlled only by s4.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 11:54 AM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Default

3 way Switch Install


How much money is it worth to you to be able to do this? There are switches out there that can be programmed to do this. I use "insteon", but there are other types. Switches of this type run about $60 each. No new wiring would be required, but you may need to re-purpose what you have.
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 11:55 AM   #37
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Folsom, CA. US
Posts: 26
Default

3 way Switch Install


Just thinking and wishing here, instead of two bulbs is it possible to run two circuits to one bulb at L4? Circuit 1 for S1 & 2 for all 4 lights and circuit 2 for a new switch to L4 (4 lights).
selvan777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 12:05 PM   #38
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Folsom, CA. US
Posts: 26
Default

3 way Switch Install


Oberkc, that is one expensive switch! How many would I need to the the job? Perhaps I can find a discounted deal via who knows what!
selvan777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 12:20 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Default

3 way Switch Install


You have four switches, S1, S2, S3, and S4. All would require replacement. Insteon switches, at $65 is actually considered pretty moderate. UPB switches run noticeably higher, though reports are pretty good on them. Z-wave are a bit higher, also.

The risk you run goes far beyond the $260 spent on four switches. You run the risk of becoming hooked on home automation. You may not be able to resist the lure of adding more and more switches. Then you will want to be able to program them to come on at certain times. Then you will want modules for your lamps. Then you will want to be able to turn on and dim lights from your TV remote.

Your imagination is the limit. I prefer not to try to add up all that I have spent.
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 12:35 PM   #40
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Folsom, CA. US
Posts: 26
Default

3 way Switch Install


Wow, these are extremely smart switches but way over my budget I'm afraid, especially with the possible addiction. Thanks for bringing them to my attention though.

So, let me see if I can squeeze another bulb in there somehow or ponder adding another fixture.
selvan777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 12:37 PM   #41
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Default

3 way Switch Install


Wisdom and self control....Nice attributes to possess.
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 01:09 PM   #42
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Folsom, CA. US
Posts: 26
Default

3 way Switch Install


oberkc, you're just way too kind...
selvan777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 01:07 PM   #43
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Folsom, CA. US
Posts: 26
Default

3 way Switch Install


Can someone tell me why this would not work?

If circuit 1 S1 or 2 is on, L1, 2, & 3 will be on.


If S1 or 2 is on and S3 is up, L4 will be on using hot from L3.

If S1 or 2 is on and S3 is center, L4 will be off.

If S1 or 2 is on and S3 is down, L4 will be on using hot from CKT 2.


IF S1 or 2 is off and S3 is up, L4 will be off.

If S1 or 2 is off and S3 is center, L4 will be off.

If S1 or 2 is off and S3 is down, L4 will be on using hot from CKT 2.
selvan777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 01:24 PM   #44
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,981
Default

3 way Switch Install


Try drawing your plan showing the hots and neutrals.

If you are planing on actually using 2 different circuits (breakers) you can create a dead short across the 2 110 volt legs of your single phase service. Dead short aross 220VAC. Do not do it. Use the same circuit breaker for the hot and neutral of any circuit you interconnect.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 01:40 PM   #45
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,472
Default

3 way Switch Install


First problem is you can't cross neutrals between two circuits. You need to switch neutral at s4 as well as hots.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to install a photoelectric switch DougManNC Electrical 12 06-10-2011 05:58 PM
4 way switch wiring ponch37300 Electrical 9 02-16-2009 09:58 AM
What switch to install between panel and 220 volt heater Rogers Guitar Electrical 4 01-21-2009 06:08 PM
GFCI switch to control outside outlets billgeo Electrical 14 09-08-2008 11:09 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.