Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-10-2008, 07:48 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 83
Share |
Default

3-Way switch Help


Joed, I connected the 4 way up and everything has been working correctly untill reciently. I would go to the house and the light would be on? I thought I might have left it on but it has done it a few times. I then tried to turn the 4-way switch off and the light flickered but never turned off. I tried up and down but niether worked then I went to the top of my steps to flick that switch and it shut the light off. But here is the thing,the switch at the top of my steps " The on to the left in your diagram" if it is flicked up then the 4-way switch will work correctly but if the switch at the top of my steps is flicked down then the 4-way will just flicker and wont shut off. Any ideas on what is wrong? I tried all the switches whe it was hooked up but I guss I must have missed this issue...

Thanks,
Chad

oxicottin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 08:01 PM   #17
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,218
Default

3-Way switch Help


Sounds like a switch could be defective. The 4way would be a good guess. Also make sure are connecting it up properly. On the 4way there are two set of terminals. The sets are different colours.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 08:37 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 83
Default

3-Way switch Help


I will have to return the 4-Way one then and see if that was it. When I connected it up I went over the wireing several times to make sure it was right but I will do it again to be sure.... I will post back the results...
oxicottin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 08:40 PM   #19
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,218
Default

3-Way switch Help


You could just remove the 4way and connect the travelers straight through. This will confirm the operation of the rest of the switches at least.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 08:52 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 83
Default

3-Way switch Help


Joed, are you saying just connect the black with the black and the white with the white at the 4-way? Thanks!
oxicottin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 09:33 PM   #21
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,218
Default

3-Way switch Help


Yes that will bypass the 4 way.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 08:04 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 83
Default

3-Way switch Help


Well Joed, I got it to work so far... I had asked a friend of my dads who is a retired master electrician and he changed a few things. The funny thing is I told him I could finish by putting the switches back in and putting the covers on and so he left. I then put it all back together and wouldnt ya know it... "It was doing the same thing" I then started to mess with and try diferent things thinking a wire wasnt connected right or something. I found out that one of my 3-Ways must have been touching something or something because if I let it dangle out of the box then everything worked perfectly but if I put it in the box then the switches didnt work correctly. It is in a metal box in the garage but I couldnt figure out why it was doing this. I moved it to the other side because its a double box and everything works correctly? I dont know what it was

Thanks,
Chad
oxicottin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 08:14 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

3-Way switch Help


Troubleshooting this you will find voltages of 60v or 120v that cannot deliver enough current to light a 4w bulb. Very confusing!
These conductors are floating, and each of the travelers will float at one time or another.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 09:34 PM
To Switch loop or not to switch loop beezlebub03 Electrical 7 06-17-2008 06:04 PM
changing a fixture to an outlet - keeping the switch aweshucks Electrical 4 12-27-2007 05:06 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 02:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.