Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-22-2008, 12:16 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

3 Way Switch Draw additional Power?

I just installed a 3 way switch following a switch-light-switch diagram (power coming into a switch, to light, to other switch and back).

My question is, does it draw additional constant power? The reason I ask is I tested it with switch on and off, and both times the wire is hot (lights my tester). The tester lights much brighter with the switch on and lights moderately with the switch off, but lights it nonetheless. In a traditional set up, the switch cuts the flow of power completely. Is it just this set up, and if so, is power constantly being used? Is it not a good set up?

I am pretty new to the electrical thing, so thanks in advance.

mattyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 08:00 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.

Rewards Points: 54

OK, first explain this: (power coming into a switch, to light, to other switch and back).
I don't like the sound of that.

NO, it dose not draw any more that before. A switch is a control, it has NO draw.

Also,a 3-way switch has NO "on" or "off". So you cannot turn a 3-way switch "OFF".

Please explain how you wired this setup.
If you are new to the "electrical thing" then this is quite a confusing task to undertake as your first.

Old 03-22-2008, 08:29 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattyd View Post
I just installed a 3 way switch following a switch-light-switch diagram (power coming into a switch, to light, to other switch and back).