3 Way Switch - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2010, 12:35 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 66
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3 Way Switch


I can't tell you what you have without looking at the wires in the boxes.

Here is a great link to all the ways a 3 way can be hooked up.
http://www.homeimprovementweb.com/in...way-switch.htm

When you purchase a 3-way switch there is a basic wiring diagram inside. Printed on the box.

Are the boxes metal? If so the ground/bare wires are bonded to the metal box.


Hope this helps

Bob

Advertisement


Last edited by Hourglass52; 12-27-2010 at 12:56 PM.
Hourglass52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 06:08 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 66
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3 Way Switch


Here is a cool video that explains how the e-way switchs works.
http://www.electrical-online.com/vid...-way-switches/
Hourglass52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 06:10 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 Way Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
You've come this far. You should be able to finish this.
At the switch box remove the white pigtail to the three way.
Make sure the black pigtail is on the common screw(black one).
Put the other black and red to the other two screws.
At the fixture connect the two reds.
Connect the white from the double switch box to the fixture.
Connect the black from the second switch to the fixture.

At the second switch connect the black to the common\
Connect the red and white to the traveller screws.
ok what to do with the wires on the single pole in box 1?
Busta1n2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 06:30 PM   #34
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3 Way Switch


the photo I modfied and posted on the last page, should include all wiring needed. Is there something I missed or is unclear. Please let me know where we now are with this and we will try to guide you form there.




Last edited by Saturday Cowboy; 12-28-2010 at 06:31 PM. Reason: photo
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 07:27 PM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 Way Switch


Sorry it took so long to get back with an update but here it is. Ended up reaching put to a friend of a friend and he was scratching his head for some time. When I said the one magic word it was like a light bulb came on. One of the old switched had a light in it and that was what was messing me up the whole time because the new switch did not have a light. Long story short we have it all fixed and everything works. Thanks to everyone for all the help.

Advertisement

Busta1n2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3 three way switch


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 07:43 PM
1 pole + 3 way switch momof2labs Electrical 1 05-22-2010 11:37 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 02:24 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 08:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts