Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-09-2010, 04:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Question

3 way switch


I am trying to eliminate a 3 way switch. The left over switch won't work and I have tried to wire as a single, but it still won't work. What should I do now?

I am trying to eliminate a 3-way but can't get the left over one to work. What am I missing???

walt-d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 04:51 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch


Are you just taking the switch out of the box or removing the assocated wiring also? If you are just taking the switch out of the box, you need to wire nut two of the wire together in the box that the switch came out of.

studhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 04:55 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch


which 2 wires to nut together??????
walt-d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 05:02 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,712
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

3 way switch


There are several ways that a pair of three ways can be wired. You would need to figure out how they were wired before trying to remove anything.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 05:13 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch


there are three wires. black, red and white. Which do i wire together and still have the left over switch work?
walt-d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 05:15 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch


are there any other wire in that box?
studhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 05:17 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch


No there isn't
walt-d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 05:17 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch


The red and the balck OR the red and the white. Depending on which way you want your other switch to work.
studhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 05:20 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch


I just want to be able to turn the light on as if there wasn't the other switch available.
walt-d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 05:28 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch



Depending on which color combo you go with will determine if "up" is "on."
studhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 05:28 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

3 way switch


With 3 wires coming out of your box and one jumper, there are 3 ways to put the jumper between two wire ends. With each jumper position, flip the remaining switch to both positions.
Only one way doesn't work, so on your first or second try it should work. If not, more tests are needed.

For no drama, use an incand. bulb for the jumper and have the same size incand. as the controlled light. When both lights glow dimly this is the 'on' position.

If your jumper light glows full brightness do not use a jumper wire between these two wire ends; more tests are needed.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 05-09-2010 at 05:44 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 08:28 PM   #12
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 way switch


Do you plan to cover up the old switchbox with a drywall patch? If so, you cannot do so. You'll need to put a blank cover plate over the box where the removed switch used to be.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 09:35 PM   #13
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,712
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

3 way switch


Sounds like this is a dead end three way. All the OP needs to do is remove the wiring from the other switch and configure those wires ath the switch that is staying and install a single ole switch. No need for any light bulbs or jumpers.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 01:28 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch


I have aready tried this, and it didn't work. black to gold and white to silver but didn't know what to do with the red so I tucked it away. This didn't work. What now?????????? What should I do with the wires from the deleted switch.
walt-d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 02:34 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way switch


With the wires from the deleted switch, try black to red, if that don't work, try white to red. This assumes you didn't change anything in the good switchbox.

studhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light switch installation problems pc_clone Electrical 8 11-30-2009 09:25 PM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.