Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-04-2009, 06:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

3 way switch


I want to install 2 additional flourescent fixtures in my garage. I have a 3 way switch by the garage door where I would like to get my power. The other 3 way is up front by my kitchen.

I want to install one plug-in for both for both of my fixtures in the ceiling using the 3 way switch by the garage door for power. Is this possible and if so, how?

Thanks for your help.

Mike
mike pace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 07:34 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

3 way switch


you will need to see which switch has power. Many times the power is at one switch and the switch leg to control the lights is at the other.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 09:10 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 77
Default

3 way switch


Is it possible to tap off the existing light fixture that is on the 3 way system? That would be much easier for wiring and for the most part foolproof.
unclduey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 09:26 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,200
Default

3 way switch


You can always tap off the existing fixture for addtional fixtures in a three way. Some times you can tap off one of the switches.
When tapping off the existing fixture use only the two wires connected to the existing fixture and leave any other wires in the box alone.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 10:33 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Default

3 way switch


I cannot run a feed from existing fixtures unless I run it on the outside of my ceiling. There is an I beam between the existing and proposed new lights. I was trying to keep it neat but this may be my only option.

I have run the two wires from the existing 3 way switch to the new lights and they do not come on. I do know much about wiring but I think I may have to run a wire from my 3 way in the kitchen to the new fixture. This would be hard to do so I may have to plug into the exisiting fixture and tack the wire to my ceiling and not be so neat.

Thanks for all the help and suggestions.

Mike
mike pace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 01:11 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
3-Way Switch Wiring MrBill_DIY Electrical 8 09-07-2008 05:53 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.