Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2009, 05:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sugar Land TX Area
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

3-Way Switch


I have one outside backyard light that can be turned off/on from a switch in the garage or from one in the house. I'm trying to add additional backyard light to work off this three way circuit but I can't run the new wire to the existing light base without busting bricks and/or removing hardy-plank; the garage is detached (the existing light is by the backdoor). Can I add the new light and have it work by both switches if I can only get to the wiring at the garage switch? I tried taking the new light wire and connecting it to the neutral white wire to the existing white wires and connecting the black hot wire to 1st the bottom pole of the switch and then to the top pole of the switch; the new light stayed on constantly and would not turn off.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Allen

atouchet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 05:52 PM   #2
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

3-Way Switch


What color and how many wires are in the switch box in the garage? What are they hooked to? If it's a proper 3-way setup, in order for your idea to work, the garage switch box would have to have the neutral in it (and wouldn't be attached to the switch at all) and the common terminal of the 3 way switch would have to be connected to the black wire of the load, not the black of the source (feed) power.

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 06:41 PM   #3
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Default

3-Way Switch


If you can get to the switch that has the leg from the light going to it you can come off of that switch.
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 08:01 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

3-Way Switch


Existing light is on the house and you want to add one on the garage?

I'm gonna say no. Not using existing wires.

If you are lucky, the circuit is installed in conduit. You need another wire in the mix.

There is probably some crazy hillbilly way of doing this but I don't think it's a good idea
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 08:21 PM   #5
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,488
Default

3-Way Switch


Allen, Here is a typical 3-Way ckt

What you need to know is where is Switch #1
Is it in the house or in the Garage?

If it is in the house then you can tap off the common of the Garage switch.

Or just tap off the existing backyard light
.
Attached Thumbnails
3-Way Switch-switch-schenatic_3-way.jpg  
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery

Last edited by PaliBob; 04-10-2009 at 08:23 PM.
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 12:05 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sugar Land TX Area
Posts: 2
Default

3-Way Switch


Palibob---I cannot get to the existing backyard light; the garage is detached from the house and the wires run through the breeze-way connecting the house and garage. Therefore, to get to the existing light, I would have to rip hardy-plank and bust brick...too expensive. How do I know which switch is #1?

SD515---the wires that are coming into the garage light switch box are red, black and white. All the white wires are twisted and capped together. The red wire from the 14/3 wire coming in is hooked to the bottom of the switch and all black wires are twisted and capped together except for the Black wire from the 14/3 line; it's connected to the top of the switch. The other black wire connected to the bottom of the switch is black jumper and tied with the other black wires that are twisted and capped; the main source wire from the panel is included in this bunch. see attachment.
Attached Thumbnails
3-Way Switch-3-way-switch-garage-switch.jpg  
atouchet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 01:23 PM   #7
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,488
Default

3-Way Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by atouchet View Post
How do I know which switch is #1?
Allen, From my diagram in Post #5 the common terminal of switch #1 will always be Hot regardless of the position of either 3-Way switch. Check the diagram.

The common terminal on a 3-Way has the odd colored screw. Look at the color of the three screws. Two will be the same and the third screw will be a different color. This is the common terminal.

* Set either 3-Way switch to where the backyard light is OFF
Check the voltage on the common of one of the two switches:
* If there is Voltage........That is Switch #1
* If there is No Voltage....That is Switch #2

Some Cheapo Testers:
Neon Screwdriver
Cheapo DMM
Voltage Sniffer
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 05:50 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,374
Default

3-Way Switch


How many cables inthat box? I know we have at least two since you have two black wires.
If you only have two cables, is the black from the two wire cable hot if if it is disconnected from the switch?

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 01:11 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
old wire, backfed switch question Jack A. Trades Electrical 6 07-03-2008 11:05 AM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.