Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-23-2011, 07:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

3-way and single pole switches


how do i get power from a 3-way switch to a single pole switch

doreian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 07:42 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,410
Default

3-way and single pole switches


You would need to determine if there is a constant hot at that 3 way. If so you would add two pigtails to the constant hot. One will provide power to each switch.

You also need a neutral in the switch box.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 07:47 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,880
Default

3-way and single pole switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by doreian View Post
how do i get power from a 3-way switch to a single pole switch
If you whistle, it will happen. It is just magical how it happens.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.