Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2010, 06:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Wink

3-way override


So I have an unusual (i hope) request for the forum members and hope you folks can help me.
I have 2 locations where I want to turn my lights on and 5 lights. One location needs to be able to turn all 5 lights on, whereas the other location would only turn one of the 5 lights. How do I wire this monstrosity?
Please help with specifics - I would much appreciate it.

Thanks.

rednet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 06:46 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3-way override


somebody please help....

rednet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 06:53 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,894
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

3-way override


You will need two three-ways at each location. A three way at each location controls 4 lights. Another three way at each location will control one light.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 06:56 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

3-way override


Let's play this scenario out:

You want to be able to turn on all 5 lights from location "A"
You want to be able to turn on one of those 5 lights from location "B"

So far, so good?

Are you prepared to be compelled to turn OFF the lights from the same location that you turned them on from?

In other words, IF you turned on all 5 lights from location A, then went to the other switch, you won't be able to turn them off from there. You'll have to go back to the original location to turn `em all off?

If this is the case, then the solution is quite simple:

Install a single-pole switch for the single light at location "B"

Then install a double-pole switch at location "A" ---> One side to control the remaining 4 lights, and the other side wired in parallel with switch B to redundantly control the single light.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 09:42 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3-way override


Thank you all for your replies - I do appreciate it.
KBSparky - you described in much better way what I wanted to do. It is exactly what I am attempting. I re-read your post few times and I am good all the way till last statement. This is where I get in trouble. So the way I understand is as follows. For the location where I want to control all the lights I need to put in a 3-way switch. I wire 4 lights from that switch. The red wire from 3-way switch then goes to a single switch where I can control one light - correct? I have trouble with this - ' the other side wired in parallel with switch B to redundantly control the single light' -> I was trying to research but have to eat my pride and ask what does this mean...
I attached a simple diagram for reference hoping this is what you meant. Here is the location: http://www.flickr.com/photos/55767170@N08/5159749773/
I would much appreciate if you could take a look and validate this for me. I think my trouble comes with connection to the last light.

Thank you very much in advance.
rednet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 11:20 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

3-way override


Nowhere did I state that you were to use a 3-way switch. I described the use of a single pole, and a double pole switch.

Your initial post stated that you wanted 2 switches .... one where 5 lights would be turned on, and the other would only turn on one of those five lights.

I have attached a diagram showing this:
Attached Thumbnails
3-way override-diagram.jpg  
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!

Last edited by kbsparky; 11-08-2010 at 11:28 PM. Reason: modified pic
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 12:25 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3-way override


KB- I had wrongly presumed that double-pole switch refers to a 3-way switch so I appreciate the clarification. It is perhaps my fault for not wanting to over-complicate my initial question and omitting there are two locations for turning all 5 lights. Given that, when reading your post I immediately presumed 3-way switch.
Will the diagram work if I was to substitute the double-pole switch with a 3-way switch so I can keep the two locations for turning on all the lights and having just one location turning one light?

I realize this is painful as my knowledge is limited in the field (as you can see from the above) - however, I sincerely appreciate all the help you had already provided.

Last edited by rednet; 11-09-2010 at 12:29 AM. Reason: corrections
rednet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 06:57 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

3-way override


There is such a thing as a 3 way double pole switch (double pole double throw; DPDT*) but I do not think you want that. Separate single pole switches (2 gang box) would be better.

Use two standard 3 way setups, one for the foursome and one for the single.

With 3 way double pole at one location you could end up with turning one light (the single light) on and the other light (the other 4 lights) off, alternating, and having to walk to the other location to get the single light off.

* (OT for budding electricians)
>>> had wrongly presumed that double-pole (DPST) switch refers to a 3-way, SPDT, switch <<<
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 11-09-2010 at 07:15 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 12:26 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3-way override


Thank you all for responding. I was able to connect the switches correctly and it works! This is great - I appreciate you all helping me out!

rednet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3way, switch override


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frontier TM-619 Digital Timer connections neildawes Electrical 27 09-04-2013 08:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.